linux-mips
[Top] [All Lists]

Re: [PATCH-RFC 06/10] mips: switch to GENERIC_PCI_IOMAP

To: Kevin Cernekee <cernekee@gmail.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH-RFC 06/10] mips: switch to GENERIC_PCI_IOMAP
From: "Michael S. Tsirkin" <mst@redhat.com>
Date: Mon, 30 Jan 2012 00:45:07 +0200
Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>, Richard Henderson <rth@twiddle.net>, Ivan Kokshaysky <ink@jurassic.park.msu.ru>, Matt Turner <mattst88@gmail.com>, Russell King <linux@arm.linux.org.uk>, Mikael Starvik <starvik@axis.com>, Jesper Nilsson <jesper.nilsson@axis.com>, Richard Kuo <rkuo@codeaurora.org>, Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com>, Fenghua Yu <fenghua.yu@intel.com>, Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org>, Michal Simek <monstr@monstr.eu>, Jonas Bonn <jonas@southpole.se>, Kyle McMartin <kyle@mcmartin.ca>, Helge Deller <deller@gmx.de>, "James E.J. Bottomley" <jejb@parisc-linux.org>, Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>, Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>, Chen Liqin <liqin.chen@sunplusct.com>, Lennox Wu <lennox.wu@gmail.com>, Paul Mundt <lethal@linux-sh.org>, "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>, Guan Xuetao <gxt@mprc.pku.edu.cn>, Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>, Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>, "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>, x86@kernel.org, Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>, Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>, Nicolas Pitre <nicolas.pitre@linaro.org>, Paul Bolle <pebolle@tiscali.nl>, Olof Johansson <olof@lixom.net>, Rob Herring <rob.herring@calxeda.com>, Paul Gortmaker <paul.gortmaker@windriver.com>, Kumar Gala <galak@kernel.crashing.org>, Michael Ellerman <michael@ellerman.id.au>, Fabio Baltieri <fabio.baltieri@gmail.com>, Lucas De Marchi <lucas.demarchi@profusion.mobi>, "John W. Linville" <linville@tuxdriver.com>, Lasse Collin <lasse.collin@tukaani.org>, Arend van Spriel <arend@broadcom.com>, Franky Lin <frankyl@broadcom.com>, linux-alpha@vger.kernel.org, linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org, linux-cris-kernel@axis.com, linux-hexagon@vger.kernel.org, linux-ia64@vger.kernel.org, linux-m68k@vger.kernel.org, microblaze-uclinux@itee.uq.edu.au, linux-mips@linux-mips.org, linux@openrisc.net, linux-parisc@vger.kernel.org, linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org, linux-sh@vger.kernel.org, sparclinux@vger.kernel.org, linux-arch@vger.kernel.org, Jesse Barnes <jbarnes@virtuousgeek.org>, linux-pci@vger.kernel.org
In-reply-to: <CAJiQ=7BPzhWWzU3_nDv3j=ZB4f=iOzeyLyd2L0_3UFaMiLujpw@mail.gmail.com>
References: <cover.1322163031.git.mst@redhat.com> <66457f7750d7d14229fcf8d0b011aba63185a75d.1322163031.git.mst@redhat.com> <CAJiQ=7BPzhWWzU3_nDv3j=ZB4f=iOzeyLyd2L0_3UFaMiLujpw@mail.gmail.com>
Sender: linux-mips-bounce@linux-mips.org
User-agent: Mutt/1.5.21 (2010-09-15)
On Sat, Jan 28, 2012 at 02:38:10PM -0800, Kevin Cernekee wrote:
> On Thu, Nov 24, 2011 at 12:18 PM, Michael S. Tsirkin <mst@redhat.com> wrote:
> > mips copied pci_iomap from generic code, probably to avoid
> > pulling the rest of iomap.c in.  Since that's in
> > a separate file now, we can reuse the common implementation.
> 
> [snip]
> 
> > -       if (flags & IORESOURCE_IO)
> > -               return ioport_map_pci(dev, start, len);
> 
> While investigating a new warning on the 3.3-rc1 MIPS build (unused
> static function ioport_map_pci()), I noticed that this patch has shown
> up in Linus' tree as commit eab90291d35438bcebf7c3dc85be66d0f24e3002.
> 
> I am not completely clear on the implications it has on mapping PCI I/O 
> regions:

Yes, my bad, I missed the difference between ioport_map_pci
and ioport_map for both MIPS and SH.
I'll post a patch to fix this, which is probably preferable
to reintroducing the code duplication where it might
trip us up again.

-- 
MST

<Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread>