linux-mips
[Top] [All Lists]

Re: [PATCH] jump-label: initialize jump-label subsystem somewhat later

To: David Daney <ddaney.cavm@gmail.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH] jump-label: initialize jump-label subsystem somewhat later
From: Sergei Shtylyov <sshtylyov@mvista.com>
Date: Wed, 14 Dec 2011 21:31:49 +0300
Cc: ralf@linux-mips.org, Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>, Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>, linux-mips@linux-mips.org, Jeremy Fitzhardinge <jeremy.fitzhardinge@citrix.com>, Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl>, linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, Jason Baron <jbaron@redhat.com>, David Daney <david.daney@cavium.com>
In-reply-to: <1323881315-23245-1-git-send-email-ddaney.cavm@gmail.com>
References: <1323881315-23245-1-git-send-email-ddaney.cavm@gmail.com>
Sender: linux-mips-bounce@linux-mips.org
User-agent: Mozilla/5.0 (X11; Linux i686; rv:6.0) Gecko/20110812 Thunderbird/6.0
Hello.

On 12/14/2011 07:48 PM, David Daney wrote:

From: David Daney <david.daney@cavium.com>

commit 97ce2c88f9ad42e3c60a9beb9fca87abf3639faa breaks MIPS.

   Please also specify that commit's summary (in parens).

The jump-lable initialization does I-Cache flushing after modifying

   Label.

code.  On MIPS this is done by calling through the function pointer
flush_icache_range().  This function pointer is initialized mm_init().

   "By" missing?

As things stand, we cannot be calling jump_label_init() until after
mm_init() completes, so we move the call down to satisfy this
constraint.

Signed-off-by: David Daney<david.daney@cavium.com>

WBR, Sergei

<Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread>