linux-mips
[Top] [All Lists]

Re: Re: [PATCHv5] atomic: add *_dec_not_zero

To: Russell King - ARM Linux <linux@arm.linux.org.uk>
Subject: Re: Re: [PATCHv5] atomic: add *_dec_not_zero
From: Sven Eckelmann <sven@narfation.org>
Date: Sun, 04 Dec 2011 22:49:10 +0100
Cc: Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>, linux-arch@vger.kernel.org, b.a.t.m.a.n@lists.open-mesh.org, Randy Dunlap <rdunlap@xenotime.net>, Richard Henderson <rth@twiddle.net>, Ivan Kokshaysky <ink@jurassic.park.msu.ru>, Matt Turner <mattst88@gmail.com>, Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com>, Fenghua Yu <fenghua.yu@intel.com>, Hirokazu Takata <takata@linux-m32r.org>, Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>, Kyle McMartin <kyle@mcmartin.ca>, Helge Deller <deller@gmx.de>, "James E.J. Bottomley" <jejb@parisc-linux.org>, Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>, Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>, Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com>, Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com>, linux390@de.ibm.com, "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>, Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@tilera.com>, Jeff Dike <jdike@addtoit.com>, Richard Weinberger <richard@nod.at>, Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>, Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>, "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>, x86@kernel.org, Arnd Bergma nn <arnd@arndb.de>, linux-doc@vger.kernel.org, linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, linux-alpha@vger.kernel.org, linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org, linux-ia64@vger.kernel.org, linux-m32r@ml.linux-m32r.org, linux-m32r-ja@ml.linux-m32r.org, linux-mips@linux-mips.org, linux-parisc@vger.kernel.org, linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org, linux-s390@vger.kernel.org, sparclinux@vger.kernel.org, user-mode-linux-devel@lists.sourceforge.net, linux-hexagon@vger.kernel.org
Dkim-signature: v=1; a=rsa-sha256; c=simple/simple; d=narfation.org; s=mail; t=1323035461; bh=GKM8jeAiRdqqfuG6yco2XIYwCs5CnJh6qUypHqCFVDg=; h=From:To:Cc:Subject:Date:Message-ID:In-Reply-To:References: MIME-Version:Content-Type:Content-Transfer-Encoding; b=Eg1ST5/SDpig76RBNCbl2zf51WC7OpUqsG4Q3UUwixwh2a3btULnIUmYCXLsyIplO iXBh8VgZ8AtsZPuC5/H8n/PsSz5SMotEZwtzma+I0EIN3fQAmnWyAnr2/YuFDvVAN7 AAY1kj83V5fBqJ8a1uC0Yh5p9MArKIDy+FFCrp5w=
In-reply-to: <20111204213316.GB14542@n2100.arm.linux.org.uk>
References: <1323013369-29691-1-git-send-email-sven@narfation.org> <20111204213316.GB14542@n2100.arm.linux.org.uk>
Sender: linux-mips-bounce@linux-mips.org
User-agent: KMail/4.6.0 (Linux/3.1.0-1-686-pae; KDE/4.6.5; i686; ; )
On Sunday 04 December 2011 21:33:16 Russell King - ARM Linux wrote:
[...]
> > +#define atomic64_dec_not_zero(v)   atomic64_add_unless((v), -1LL, 0LL)
> 
> I think this is rather silly - all these definitions are very similar to
> each other.  Is there really no way to put this into include/linux/atomic.h,
> maybe as something like:
> 
> #ifndef atomic64_dec_not_zero
> #define atomic64_dec_not_zero(v)      atomic64_add_unless((v), -1, 0)
> #endif
> 
> and avoid having to add essentially the same definition to 12 individual
> files?
> 
> Architectures which want to override it can do by the following:
> 
> #define atomic64_dec_not_zero         atomic64_dec_not_zero
> 
> which won't have any effect on C nor asm code.

 * https://lkml.org/lkml/2011/5/8/15
 * https://lkml.org/lkml/2011/5/8/16
 * https://lkml.org/lkml/2011/5/8/321

Kind regards,
        Sven

Attachment: signature.asc
Description: This is a digitally signed message part.

<Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread>