linux-mips
[Top] [All Lists]

[PATCH-RFC 01/10] lib: move GENERIC_IOMAP to lib/Kconfig

To: unlisted-recipients:; (no To-header on input)
Subject: [PATCH-RFC 01/10] lib: move GENERIC_IOMAP to lib/Kconfig
From: "Michael S. Tsirkin" <mst@redhat.com>
Date: Thu, 24 Nov 2011 22:15:42 +0200
Cc: Richard Henderson <rth@twiddle.net>, Ivan Kokshaysky <ink@jurassic.park.msu.ru>, Matt Turner <mattst88@gmail.com>, Russell King <linux@arm.linux.org.uk>, Mikael Starvik <starvik@axis.com>, Jesper Nilsson <jesper.nilsson@axis.com>, Richard Kuo <rkuo@codeaurora.org>, Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com>, Fenghua Yu <fenghua.yu@intel.com>, Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org>, Michal Simek <monstr@monstr.eu>, Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>, Jonas Bonn <jonas@southpole.se>, Kyle McMartin <kyle@mcmartin.ca>, Helge Deller <deller@gmx.de>, "James E.J. Bottomley" <jejb@parisc-linux.org>, Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>, Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>, Chen Liqin <liqin.chen@sunplusct.com>, Lennox Wu <lennox.wu@gmail.com>, Paul Mundt <lethal@linux-sh.org>, "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>, Guan Xuetao <gxt@mprc.pku.edu.cn>, Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>, Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>, "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>, x86@kernel.org, Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>, Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>, "Michael S. Tsirkin" <mst@redhat.com>, Nicolas Pitre <nicolas.pitre@linaro.org>, Paul Bolle <pebolle@tiscali.nl>, Olof Johansson <olof@lixom.net>, Rob Herring <rob.herring@calxeda.com>, Paul Gortmaker <paul.gortmaker@windriver.com>, Kumar Gala <galak@kernel.crashing.org>, Michael Ellerman <michael@ellerman.id.au>, Fabio Baltieri <fabio.baltieri@gmail.com>, Lucas De Marchi <lucas.demarchi@profusion.mobi>, "John W. Linville" <linville@tuxdriver.com>, Lasse Collin <lasse.collin@tukaani.org>, Arend van Spriel <arend@broadcom.com>, Franky Lin <frankyl@broadcom.com>, linux-alpha@vger.kernel.org, linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org, linux-cris-kernel@axis.com, linux-hexagon@vger.kernel.org, linux-ia64@vger.kernel.org, linux-m68k@vger.kernel.org, microblaze-uclinux@itee.uq.edu.au, linux-mips@linux-mips.org, linux@openrisc.net, linux-parisc@vger.kernel.org, linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org, linux-sh@vger.kernel.org, sparclinux@vger.kernel.org, linux-arch@vger.kernel.org, Jesse Barnes <jbarnes@virtuousgeek.org>, linux-pci@vger.kernel.org
In-reply-to: <cover.1322163031.git.mst@redhat.com>
References: <cover.1322163031.git.mst@redhat.com>
Sender: linux-mips-bounce@linux-mips.org
User-agent: Mutt/1.5.21 (2010-09-15)
define GENERIC_IOMAP in a central location
instead of all architectures. This will be helpful
for the follow-up patch which makes it select
other configs. Code is also a bit shorter this way.

Signed-off-by: Michael S. Tsirkin <mst@redhat.com>
---
 arch/alpha/Kconfig             |    4 ----
 arch/cris/Kconfig              |    5 +----
 arch/hexagon/Kconfig           |    4 +---
 arch/ia64/Kconfig              |    5 +----
 arch/m68k/Kconfig              |    4 +---
 arch/openrisc/Kconfig          |    3 ---
 arch/powerpc/platforms/Kconfig |    3 ---
 arch/score/Kconfig             |    4 +---
 arch/sh/Kconfig                |    3 ---
 arch/unicore32/Kconfig         |    4 +---
 arch/x86/Kconfig               |    4 +---
 lib/Kconfig                    |    3 +++
 12 files changed, 10 insertions(+), 36 deletions(-)

diff --git a/arch/alpha/Kconfig b/arch/alpha/Kconfig
index 3d74801..3636b11 100644
--- a/arch/alpha/Kconfig
+++ b/arch/alpha/Kconfig
@@ -70,10 +70,6 @@ config GENERIC_ISA_DMA
        bool
        default y
 
-config GENERIC_IOMAP
-       bool
-       default n
-
 source "init/Kconfig"
 source "kernel/Kconfig.freezer"
 
diff --git a/arch/cris/Kconfig b/arch/cris/Kconfig
index 408b055..b3abfb0 100644
--- a/arch/cris/Kconfig
+++ b/arch/cris/Kconfig
@@ -19,10 +19,6 @@ config GENERIC_CMOS_UPDATE
 config ARCH_USES_GETTIMEOFFSET
        def_bool n
 
-config GENERIC_IOMAP
-       bool
-       default y
-
 config ARCH_HAS_ILOG2_U32
        bool
        default n
@@ -52,6 +48,7 @@ config CRIS
        select HAVE_IDE
        select HAVE_GENERIC_HARDIRQS
        select GENERIC_IRQ_SHOW
+       select GENERIC_IOMAP
 
 config HZ
        int
diff --git a/arch/hexagon/Kconfig b/arch/hexagon/Kconfig
index 02513c2..9059e39 100644
--- a/arch/hexagon/Kconfig
+++ b/arch/hexagon/Kconfig
@@ -26,6 +26,7 @@ config HEXAGON
        select HAVE_ARCH_KGDB
        select HAVE_ARCH_TRACEHOOK
        select NO_IOPORT
+       select GENERIC_IOMAP
        # mostly generic routines, with some accelerated ones
        ---help---
          Qualcomm Hexagon is a processor architecture designed for high
@@ -73,9 +74,6 @@ config GENERIC_CSUM
 config GENERIC_IRQ_PROBE
        def_bool y
 
-config GENERIC_IOMAP
-       def_bool y
-
 #config ZONE_DMA
 #      bool
 #      default y
diff --git a/arch/ia64/Kconfig b/arch/ia64/Kconfig
index 27489b6..2732e1b 100644
--- a/arch/ia64/Kconfig
+++ b/arch/ia64/Kconfig
@@ -29,6 +29,7 @@ config IA64
        select GENERIC_IRQ_SHOW
        select ARCH_WANT_OPTIONAL_GPIOLIB
        select ARCH_HAVE_NMI_SAFE_CMPXCHG
+       select GENERIC_IOMAP
        default y
        help
          The Itanium Processor Family is Intel's 64-bit successor to
@@ -102,10 +103,6 @@ config EFI
        bool
        default y
 
-config GENERIC_IOMAP
-       bool
-       default y
-
 config ARCH_CLOCKSOURCE_DATA
        def_bool y
 
diff --git a/arch/m68k/Kconfig b/arch/m68k/Kconfig
index 361d540..973e686 100644
--- a/arch/m68k/Kconfig
+++ b/arch/m68k/Kconfig
@@ -38,9 +38,6 @@ config GENERIC_CALIBRATE_DELAY
        bool
        default y
 
-config GENERIC_IOMAP
-       def_bool MMU
-
 config TIME_LOW_RES
        bool
        default y
@@ -73,6 +70,7 @@ source "kernel/Kconfig.freezer"
 config MMU
        bool "MMU-based Paged Memory Management Support"
        default y
+       select GENERIC_IOMAP
        help
          Select if you want MMU-based virtualised addressing space
          support by paged memory management. If unsure, say 'Y'.
diff --git a/arch/openrisc/Kconfig b/arch/openrisc/Kconfig
index e518a5a..081a54f 100644
--- a/arch/openrisc/Kconfig
+++ b/arch/openrisc/Kconfig
@@ -38,9 +38,6 @@ config RWSEM_XCHGADD_ALGORITHM
 config GENERIC_HWEIGHT
        def_bool y
 
-config GENERIC_IOMAP
-       def_bool y
-
 config NO_IOPORT
        def_bool y
 
diff --git a/arch/powerpc/platforms/Kconfig b/arch/powerpc/platforms/Kconfig
index 3fe6d92..100feed 100644
--- a/arch/powerpc/platforms/Kconfig
+++ b/arch/powerpc/platforms/Kconfig
@@ -175,9 +175,6 @@ config PPC_INDIRECT_MMIO
 config PPC_IO_WORKAROUNDS
        bool
 
-config GENERIC_IOMAP
-       bool
-
 source "drivers/cpufreq/Kconfig"
 
 menu "CPU Frequency drivers"
diff --git a/arch/score/Kconfig b/arch/score/Kconfig
index df169e8..455ce2d 100644
--- a/arch/score/Kconfig
+++ b/arch/score/Kconfig
@@ -4,6 +4,7 @@ config SCORE
        def_bool y
        select HAVE_GENERIC_HARDIRQS
        select GENERIC_IRQ_SHOW
+       select GENERIC_IOMAP
 
 choice
        prompt "System type"
@@ -33,9 +34,6 @@ endmenu
 config CPU_SCORE7
        bool
 
-config GENERIC_IOMAP
-       def_bool y
-
 config NO_DMA
        bool
        default y
diff --git a/arch/sh/Kconfig b/arch/sh/Kconfig
index 5629e20..5aeab58 100644
--- a/arch/sh/Kconfig
+++ b/arch/sh/Kconfig
@@ -84,9 +84,6 @@ config GENERIC_GPIO
 config GENERIC_CALIBRATE_DELAY
        bool
 
-config GENERIC_IOMAP
-       bool
-
 config GENERIC_CLOCKEVENTS
        def_bool y
 
diff --git a/arch/unicore32/Kconfig b/arch/unicore32/Kconfig
index 942ed61..eeb8054 100644
--- a/arch/unicore32/Kconfig
+++ b/arch/unicore32/Kconfig
@@ -12,6 +12,7 @@ config UNICORE32
        select GENERIC_IRQ_PROBE
        select GENERIC_IRQ_SHOW
        select ARCH_WANT_FRAME_POINTERS
+       select GENERIC_IOMAP
        help
          UniCore-32 is 32-bit Instruction Set Architecture,
          including a series of low-power-consumption RISC chip
@@ -30,9 +31,6 @@ config GENERIC_CLOCKEVENTS
 config GENERIC_CSUM
        def_bool y
 
-config GENERIC_IOMAP
-       def_bool y
-
 config NO_IOPORT
        bool
 
diff --git a/arch/x86/Kconfig b/arch/x86/Kconfig
index cb9a104..08af645 100644
--- a/arch/x86/Kconfig
+++ b/arch/x86/Kconfig
@@ -75,6 +75,7 @@ config X86
        select HAVE_BPF_JIT if (X86_64 && NET)
        select CLKEVT_I8253
        select ARCH_HAVE_NMI_SAFE_CMPXCHG
+       select GENERIC_IOMAP
 
 config INSTRUCTION_DECODER
        def_bool (KPROBES || PERF_EVENTS)
@@ -140,9 +141,6 @@ config NEED_SG_DMA_LENGTH
 config GENERIC_ISA_DMA
        def_bool ISA_DMA_API
 
-config GENERIC_IOMAP
-       def_bool y
-
 config GENERIC_BUG
        def_bool y
        depends on BUG
diff --git a/lib/Kconfig b/lib/Kconfig
index 32f3e5a..0058927 100644
--- a/lib/Kconfig
+++ b/lib/Kconfig
@@ -19,6 +19,9 @@ config RATIONAL
 config GENERIC_FIND_FIRST_BIT
        bool
 
+config GENERIC_IOMAP
+       bool
+
 config CRC_CCITT
        tristate "CRC-CCITT functions"
        help
-- 
1.7.5.53.gc233e


<Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread>