linux-mips
[Top] [All Lists]

Re: [RFC] virtio: expose for non-virtualization users too

To: Ohad Ben-Cohen <ohad@wizery.com>
Subject: Re: [RFC] virtio: expose for non-virtualization users too
From: "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>
Date: Tue, 05 Jul 2011 15:35:46 -0700
Cc: Rusty Russell <rusty@rustcorp.com.au>, virtualization@lists.linux-foundation.org, Grant Likely <grant.likely@secretlab.ca>, Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>, linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org, linux-omap@vger.kernel.org, Xiantao Zhang <xiantao.zhang@intel.com>, Avi Kivity <avi@redhat.com>, Marcelo Tosatti <mtosatti@redhat.com>, Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com>, Fenghua Yu <fenghua.yu@intel.com>, Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>, Alexander Graf <agraf@suse.de>, Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>, Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>, Carsten Otte <cotte@de.ibm.com>, Christian Borntraeger <borntraeger@de.ibm.com>, linux390@de.ibm.com, Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com>, Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com>, Paul Mundt <lethal@linux-sh.org>, Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@tilera.com>, Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>, Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>, x86@kernel.org, "Michael S. Tsirkin" <mst@redhat.com>, Russell King <rmk+kernel@arm.linux.org.uk>, John Stultz <john.stultz@linaro.org>, Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>, kvm-ia64@vger.kernel.org, kvm@vger.kernel.org, linux-ia64@vger.kernel.org, linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, linux-mips@linux-mips.org, kvm-ppc@vger.kernel.org, linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org, linux-s390@vger.kernel.org, linux-sh@vger.kernel.org
In-reply-to: <1309874774-31689-1-git-send-email-ohad@wizery.com>
References: <1309874774-31689-1-git-send-email-ohad@wizery.com>
Sender: linux-mips-bounce@linux-mips.org
User-agent: Mozilla/5.0 (X11; U; Linux x86_64; en-US; rv:1.9.2.17) Gecko/20110428 Fedora/3.1.10-1.fc15 Thunderbird/3.1.10
On 07/05/2011 07:06 AM, Ohad Ben-Cohen wrote:
> virtio has been so far used only in the context of virtualization,
> and the virtio Kconfig was sourced directly by the relevant arch
> Kconfigs when VIRTUALIZATION was selected.
> 
> Now that we start using virtio for inter-processor communications,
> we need to source the virtio Kconfig outside of the virtualization
> scope too.
> 

Seems reasonable to me.

        -hpa

<Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread>