linux-mips
[Top] [All Lists]

Re: [RFC,PATCH] Cleanup PC parallel port Kconfig

To: Russell King - ARM Linux <linux@arm.linux.org.uk>
Subject: Re: [RFC,PATCH] Cleanup PC parallel port Kconfig
From: "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>
Date: Wed, 15 Jun 2011 08:08:05 -0700
Cc: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>, linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org, Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>, linux-mips@linux-mips.org, linux-m68k@vger.kernel.org, linux-ia64@vger.kernel.org, linux-sh@vger.kernel.org, Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>, Chen Liqin <liqin.chen@sunplusct.com>, Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>, sparclinux@vger.kernel.org, Guan Xuetao <gxt@mprc.pku.edu.cn>, Lennox Wu <lennox.wu@gmail.com>, linux-arch@vger.kernel.org, Jesper Nilsson <jesper.nilsson@axis.com>, Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp>, Helge Deller <deller@gmx.de>, x86@kernel.org, "James E.J. Bottomley" <jejb@parisc-linux.org>, Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>, Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org>, Matt Turner <mattst88@gmail.com>, Fenghua Yu <fenghua.yu@intel.com>, microblaze-uclinux@itee.uq.edu.au, Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@tilera.com>, Mikael Starvik <starvik@axis.com>, Ivan Kokshaysky <ink@jurassic.park.msu.ru>, Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>, Richard Henderson <rth@twiddle.net>, Chris Zankel <chris@zankel.net>, Michal Simek <monstr@monstr.eu>, Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com>, linux-parisc@vger.kernel.org, linux-cris-kernel@axis.com, linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, Kyle McMartin <kyle@mcmartin.ca>, Paul Mundt <lethal@linux-sh.org>, linux-alpha@vger.kernel.org, linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org, "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>
In-reply-to: <20110615074749.GB28989@n2100.arm.linux.org.uk>
References: <20110614190850.GA13526@linux-mips.org> <4DF7C3CA.9050902@zytor.com> <201106142333.16203.arnd@arndb.de> <4DF83577.6040903@zytor.com> <20110615074749.GB28989@n2100.arm.linux.org.uk>
Sender: linux-mips-bounce@linux-mips.org
User-agent: Mozilla/5.0 (X11; U; Linux x86_64; en-US; rv:1.9.2.17) Gecko/20110428 Fedora/3.1.10-1.fc15 Thunderbird/3.1.10
On 06/15/2011 12:47 AM, Russell King - ARM Linux wrote:
>>
>> OK, serial-8250 is clearly just plain wrong, since the 8250 series UARTs
>> are ubiquitous across just about every platform.
>>
>> Floppy is special (in the short bus sense), since it is closely tied to
>> ISA DMA.  Conditionalizing this on ISA DMA makes total sense.
> 
> No it doesn't.  It depends on the ISA DMA API, not that the machine has
> ISA DMA.
> 
> I have a platform which has no ISA DMA but uses the floppy driver.  Please
> don't break it.

OK, even more case in point, then.

        -hpa

-- 
H. Peter Anvin, Intel Open Source Technology Center
I work for Intel.  I don't speak on their behalf.


<Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread>