linux-mips
[Top] [All Lists]

Re: [RFC,PATCH] Cleanup PC parallel port Kconfig

To: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>
Subject: Re: [RFC,PATCH] Cleanup PC parallel port Kconfig
From: Guenter Roeck <guenter.roeck@ericsson.com>
Date: Wed, 15 Jun 2011 07:36:34 -0700
Cc: "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>, "linux-arch@vger.kernel.org" <linux-arch@vger.kernel.org>, Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>, Chen Liqin <liqin.chen@sunplusct.com>, Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@tilera.com>, Chris Zankel <chris@zankel.net>, "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>, Fenghua Yu <fenghua.yu@intel.com>, Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org>, Guan Xuetao <gxt@mprc.pku.edu.cn>, Helge Deller <deller@gmx.de>, Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>, Ivan Kokshaysky <ink@jurassic.park.msu.ru>, "James E.J. Bottomley" <jejb@parisc-linux.org>, Jesper Nilsson <jesper.nilsson@axis.com>, Kyle McMartin <kyle@mcmartin.ca>, Lennox Wu <lennox.wu@gmail.com>, Matt Turner <mattst88@gmail.com>, Michal Simek <monstr@monstr.eu>, Mikael Starvik <starvik@axis.com>, Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>, Paul Mundt <lethal@linux-sh.org>, Richard Henderson <rth@twiddle.net>, Russell King <linux@arm.linux.org.uk>, "sparclinux@vger.kernel.org" <sparclinux@vger.kernel.org>, Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>, Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com>, "x86@kernel.org" <x86@kernel.org>, Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp>, "microblaze-uclinux@itee.uq.edu.au" <microblaze-uclinux@itee.uq.edu.au>, "linux-alpha@vger.kernel.org" <linux-alpha@vger.kernel.org>, "linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org" <linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org>, "linux-cris-kernel@axis.com" <linux-cris-kernel@axis.com>, "linux-ia64@vger.kernel.org" <linux-ia64@vger.kernel.org>, "linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org" <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>, "linux-m68k@vger.kernel.org" <linux-m68k@vger.kernel.org>, "linux-mips@linux-mips.org" <linux-mips@linux-mips.org>, "linux-parisc@vger.kernel.org" <linux-parisc@vger.kernel.org>, "linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org" <linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org>, "linux-sh@vger.kernel.org" <linux-sh@vger.kernel.org>
In-reply-to: <20110615083437.GA32624@linux-mips.org>
References: <20110614190850.GA13526@linux-mips.org> <4DF7C3CA.9050902@zytor.com> <20110614223404.GA30057@linux-mips.org> <4DF8329C.7000904@zytor.com> <20110615083437.GA32624@linux-mips.org>
Sender: linux-mips-bounce@linux-mips.org
User-agent: Mutt/1.5.20 (2009-06-14)
On Wed, Jun 15, 2011 at 04:34:37AM -0400, Ralf Baechle wrote:
> On Tue, Jun 14, 2011 at 09:18:36PM -0700, H. Peter Anvin wrote:
> 
> > On 06/14/2011 03:34 PM, Ralf Baechle wrote:
> > > 
> > > There is no point in offering to build something that couldn't possibly be
> > > used.  It just makes the kernel harder to configure and inflates the test
> > > matrix for no good reason.
> > > 
> > 
> > I see... that's why a bunch of devices that only exist on ARM and MIPS
> > SoCs are offered on x86 platforms?
> 
> Well, if you notice one of those, yell.  Or send patches.  Most of those
> have been fixed.
> 
I think he was being sarcastic, and wanted to say that it should be that way.

Guenter

<Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread>