linux-mips
[Top] [All Lists]

Re: [RFC,PATCH] Cleanup PC parallel port Kconfig

To: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>
Subject: Re: [RFC,PATCH] Cleanup PC parallel port Kconfig
From: Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org>
Date: Wed, 15 Jun 2011 13:24:24 +0200
Cc: "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>, linux-mips@linux-mips.org, linux-m68k@vger.kernel.org, linux-ia64@vger.kernel.org, linux-sh@vger.kernel.org, Chen Liqin <liqin.chen@sunplusct.com>, Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>, sparclinux@vger.kernel.org, Guan Xuetao <gxt@mprc.pku.edu.cn>, Lennox Wu <lennox.wu@gmail.com>, linux-arch@vger.kernel.org, Jesper Nilsson <jesper.nilsson@axis.com>, Russell King <linux@arm.linux.org.uk>, Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp>, Helge Deller <deller@gmx.de>, x86@kernel.org, "James E.J. Bottomley" <jejb@parisc-linux.org>, Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>, Matt Turner <mattst88@gmail.com>, Fenghua Yu <fenghua.yu@intel.com>, microblaze-uclinux@itee.uq.edu.au, Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@tilera.com>, Mikael Starvik <starvik@axis.com>, Ivan Kokshaysky <ink@jurassic.park.msu.ru>, Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>, linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org, Richard Henderson <rth@twiddle.net>, Chris Zankel <chris@zankel.net>, Michal Simek <monstr@monstr.eu>, Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com>, linux-cris-kernel@axis.com, linux-parisc@vger.kernel.org, linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>, Kyle McMartin <kyle@mcmartin.ca>, Paul Mundt <lethal@linux-sh.org>, linux-alpha@vger.kernel.org, linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org, "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>
Dkim-signature: v=1; a=rsa-sha256; c=relaxed/relaxed; d=gmail.com; s=gamma; h=domainkey-signature:mime-version:sender:in-reply-to:references:date :x-google-sender-auth:message-id:subject:from:to:cc:content-type :content-transfer-encoding; bh=z1KTW2uOCYijPRZGY4wMIXaSj/CLGvkowI1pYxwn2I8=; b=F9K4PnYSrphTUPFtjyx7sIDD31+KIYXR8vz1nn7Bsi7GudUqIYHBNA1N0NkQ3urp7j BkOJ9F/AQiGH7+HLmIt2AiUcIHLfk/6NTaroW2cd5R+5G6VoGAGnVvEmPY1dAZMLQ6Z5 3qmsje2Gram/nMMhJUfWfHjO28eHB0hAOtrAE=
Domainkey-signature: a=rsa-sha1; c=nofws; d=gmail.com; s=gamma; h=mime-version:sender:in-reply-to:references:date :x-google-sender-auth:message-id:subject:from:to:cc:content-type :content-transfer-encoding; b=n4vGYZ7jjdiWtEe00gTKMZIiGrFDZRmvPt7nrELkoZ4iBtU5D0QNxOOSsWDuGV2nr5 FKvHaexFU8c4J2sSE0IEkV3zmRtxeLLTgPs05cu1wvhgNa5ukGWcXuRiIlrOnM3sbABE 86r1iJydidL+06p1WwA0zSqbJg+cP+DaN2dF4=
In-reply-to: <201106151146.13320.arnd@arndb.de>
References: <20110614190850.GA13526@linux-mips.org> <201106142333.16203.arnd@arndb.de> <4DF83577.6040903@zytor.com> <201106151146.13320.arnd@arndb.de>
Sender: linux-mips-bounce@linux-mips.org
On Wed, Jun 15, 2011 at 11:46, Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de> wrote:
> * In case of floppies, the "solution" was to write a driver for every 
> platform that
>  doesn't have PIO, since they tend to have other differences. The amiflop and
>  ataflop drivers are not even use readb(), they just derefence volatile 
> pointers
>  to do MMIO. I doubt we can find volunteers to clean that up.

Amiflop drives the Amiga floppy controller, which is completely
different from the
PC-style floppy controller.
Ataflop drives the Atari floppy controller, which seems to be a WD1772 and not
related to PC-style floppy controllers neither.

So none of them drive PC-style hardware, and both predate the generic readb()
infrastructure.

Gr{oetje,eeting}s,

                        Geert

--
Geert Uytterhoeven -- There's lots of Linux beyond ia32 -- geert@linux-m68k.org

In personal conversations with technical people, I call myself a hacker. But
when I'm talking to journalists I just say "programmer" or something like that.
                                -- Linus Torvalds

<Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread>