linux-mips
[Top] [All Lists]

Re: [RFC,PATCH] Cleanup PC parallel port Kconfig

To: "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>
Subject: Re: [RFC,PATCH] Cleanup PC parallel port Kconfig
From: Russell King - ARM Linux <linux@arm.linux.org.uk>
Date: Wed, 15 Jun 2011 08:47:50 +0100
Cc: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>, linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org, Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>, linux-mips@linux-mips.org, linux-m68k@vger.kernel.org, linux-ia64@vger.kernel.org, linux-sh@vger.kernel.org, Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>, Chen Liqin <liqin.chen@sunplusct.com>, Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>, sparclinux@vger.kernel.org, Guan Xuetao <gxt@mprc.pku.edu.cn>, Lennox Wu <lennox.wu@gmail.com>, linux-arch@vger.kernel.org, Jesper Nilsson <jesper.nilsson@axis.com>, Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp>, Helge Deller <deller@gmx.de>, x86@kernel.org, "James E.J. Bottomley" <jejb@parisc-linux.org>, Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>, Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org>, Matt Turner <mattst88@gmail.com>, Fenghua Yu <fenghua.yu@intel.com>, microblaze-uclinux@itee.uq.edu.au, Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@tilera.com>, Mikael Starvik <starvik@axis.com>, Ivan Kokshaysky <ink@jurassic.park.msu.ru>, Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>, Richard Henderson <rth@twiddle.net>, Chris Zankel <chris@zankel.net>, Michal Simek <monstr@monstr.eu>, Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com>, linux-parisc@vger.kernel.org, linux-cris-kernel@axis.com, linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, Kyle McMartin <kyle@mcmartin.ca>, Paul Mundt <lethal@linux-sh.org>, linux-alpha@vger.kernel.org, linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org, "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>
Dkim-signature: v=1; a=rsa-sha256; q=dns/txt; c=relaxed/relaxed; d=arm.linux.org.uk; s=caramon; h=Sender:In-Reply-To:Content-Type:MIME-Version:References:Message-ID:Subject:Cc:To:From:Date; bh=agOcgmQc07pm4x5FRlTzdVmIRxDIXvcdzqDHM+ZMJZk=; b=UWfeIl/fb6ZsAwsAtL3BPXfQ6+uqL0JrTVA6/Qh5QlXtJIi6rovDLzrS8hdB1bHUhxSFDRMRmDcQSU39/9IdyRj6hBBhtLliq6x8RM7ewOlCUADYFGDgKvmITZsYbwp1o11Sop6FNqenSy+8MnsYbqqfuwcoSoFKGDdtUUbWfdg=;
In-reply-to: <4DF83577.6040903@zytor.com>
References: <20110614190850.GA13526@linux-mips.org> <4DF7C3CA.9050902@zytor.com> <201106142333.16203.arnd@arndb.de> <4DF83577.6040903@zytor.com>
Sender: linux-mips-bounce@linux-mips.org
User-agent: Mutt/1.5.19 (2009-01-05)
On Tue, Jun 14, 2011 at 09:30:47PM -0700, H. Peter Anvin wrote:
> On 06/14/2011 02:33 PM, Arnd Bergmann wrote:
> >>
> >> Why on earth restrict it like that?  It's just a device driver, like
> >> more or less any other device driver...
> > 
> > I'd say any other classic ISA/PC driver, including floppy, gameport or
> > serial-8250. One problem with these is that we never fully worked out
> > the dependencies for these, which we probably should. CONFIG_ISA
> > generally means ISA add-on cards, but that might not be enabled for
> > platforms that have a pc-parport but no ISA slots.
> > 
> 
> OK, serial-8250 is clearly just plain wrong, since the 8250 series UARTs
> are ubiquitous across just about every platform.
> 
> Floppy is special (in the short bus sense), since it is closely tied to
> ISA DMA.  Conditionalizing this on ISA DMA makes total sense.

No it doesn't.  It depends on the ISA DMA API, not that the machine has
ISA DMA.

I have a platform which has no ISA DMA but uses the floppy driver.  Please
don't break it.

<Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread>