linux-mips
[Top] [All Lists]

Re: [RFC,PATCH] Cleanup PC parallel port Kconfig

To: "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>
Subject: Re: [RFC,PATCH] Cleanup PC parallel port Kconfig
From: Russell King - ARM Linux <linux@arm.linux.org.uk>
Date: Wed, 15 Jun 2011 08:39:35 +0100
Cc: "Luck, Tony" <tony.luck@intel.com>, Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>, "linux-arch@vger.kernel.org" <linux-arch@vger.kernel.org>, Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>, Chen Liqin <liqin.chen@sunplusct.com>, Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@tilera.com>, Chris Zankel <chris@zankel.net>, "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>, "Yu, Fenghua" <fenghua.yu@intel.com>, Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org>, Guan Xuetao <gxt@mprc.pku.edu.cn>, Helge Deller <deller@gmx.de>, Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>, Ivan Kokshaysky <ink@jurassic.park.msu.ru>, "James E.J. Bottomley" <jejb@parisc-linux.org>, Jesper Nilsson <jesper.nilsson@axis.com>, Kyle McMartin <kyle@mcmartin.ca>, Lennox Wu <lennox.wu@gmail.com>, Matt Turner <mattst88@gmail.com>, Michal Simek <monstr@monstr.eu>, Mikael Starvik <starvik@axis.com>, Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>, Paul Mundt <lethal@linux-sh.org>, Richard Henderson <rth@twiddle.net>, "sparclinux@vger.kernel.org" <sparclinux@vger.kernel.org>, Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>, "x86@kernel.org" <x86@kernel.org>, Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp>, "microblaze-uclinux@itee.uq.edu.au" <microblaze-uclinux@itee.uq.edu.au>, "linux-alpha@vger.kernel.org" <linux-alpha@vger.kernel.org>, "linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org" <linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org>, "linux-cris-kernel@axis.com" <linux-cris-kernel@axis.com>, "linux-ia64@vger.kernel.org" <linux-ia64@vger.kernel.org>, "linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org" <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>, "linux-m68k@vger.kernel.org" <linux-m68k@vger.kernel.org>, "linux-mips@linux-mips.org" <linux-mips@linux-mips.org>, "linux-parisc@vger.kernel.org" <linux-parisc@vger.kernel.org>, "linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org" <linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org>, "linux-sh@vger.kernel.org" <linux-sh@vger.kernel.org>
Dkim-signature: v=1; a=rsa-sha256; q=dns/txt; c=relaxed/relaxed; d=arm.linux.org.uk; s=caramon; h=Sender:In-Reply-To:Content-Type:MIME-Version:References:Message-ID:Subject:Cc:To:From:Date; bh=w973z0Fa/80PLH5FFIiMGPYsqUQMlNp2jjMb8hfv48s=; b=N7aEnoGdIiSKK3w7v9v+vtwCqJ/fQgPGYHTkKFZZeO2VzLom9px/0Oql9n6IPeeN+vyqBisFFz8NB6nx3oOaihss3e/v77NfqrHrnUdV2gN9+Q5SwuTaxu584ETCIgjQGSXZx9sMxWxhNVCYMJXCfAg3HpANcxVIp8TykHZfAic=;
In-reply-to: <4DF8359F.10809@zytor.com>
References: <20110614190850.GA13526@linux-mips.org> <987664A83D2D224EAE907B061CE93D5301E7281306@orsmsx505.amr.corp.intel.com> <4DF8359F.10809@zytor.com>
Sender: linux-mips-bounce@linux-mips.org
User-agent: Mutt/1.5.19 (2009-01-05)
On Tue, Jun 14, 2011 at 09:31:27PM -0700, H. Peter Anvin wrote:
> On 06/14/2011 03:08 PM, Luck, Tony wrote:
> > I took a look at the back of all my ia64 systems - none of them
> > have a parallel port.  It seems unlikely that new systems will
> > start adding parallel ports :-)
> > 
> > So even if I had a printer (or other device) that used a parallel
> > port, I have no way to test it.
> 
> If it has PCI slots, it can have a parallel port.

Is that a clue about where a select statement should be?

<Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread>