linux-mips
[Top] [All Lists]

Re: [RFC,PATCH] Cleanup PC parallel port Kconfig

To: "Luck, Tony" <tony.luck@intel.com>
Subject: Re: [RFC,PATCH] Cleanup PC parallel port Kconfig
From: "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>
Date: Tue, 14 Jun 2011 21:31:27 -0700
Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>, "linux-arch@vger.kernel.org" <linux-arch@vger.kernel.org>, Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>, Chen Liqin <liqin.chen@sunplusct.com>, Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@tilera.com>, Chris Zankel <chris@zankel.net>, "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>, "Yu, Fenghua" <fenghua.yu@intel.com>, Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org>, Guan Xuetao <gxt@mprc.pku.edu.cn>, Helge Deller <deller@gmx.de>, Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>, Ivan Kokshaysky <ink@jurassic.park.msu.ru>, "James E.J. Bottomley" <jejb@parisc-linux.org>, Jesper Nilsson <jesper.nilsson@axis.com>, Kyle McMartin <kyle@mcmartin.ca>, Lennox Wu <lennox.wu@gmail.com>, Matt Turner <mattst88@gmail.com>, Michal Simek <monstr@monstr.eu>, Mikael Starvik <starvik@axis.com>, Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>, Paul Mundt <lethal@linux-sh.org>, Richard Henderson <rth@twiddle.net>, Russell King <linux@arm.linux.org.uk>, "sparclinux@vger.kernel.org" <sparclinux@vger.kernel.org>, Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>, "x86@kernel.org" <x86@kernel.org>, Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp>, "microblaze-uclinux@itee.uq.edu.au" <microblaze-uclinux@itee.uq.edu.au>, "linux-alpha@vger.kernel.org" <linux-alpha@vger.kernel.org>, "linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org" <linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org>, "linux-cris-kernel@axis.com" <linux-cris-kernel@axis.com>, "linux-ia64@vger.kernel.org" <linux-ia64@vger.kernel.org>, "linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org" <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>, "linux-m68k@vger.kernel.org" <linux-m68k@vger.kernel.org>, "linux-mips@linux-mips.org" <linux-mips@linux-mips.org>, "linux-parisc@vger.kernel.org" <linux-parisc@vger.kernel.org>, "linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org" <linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org>, "linux-sh@vger.kernel.org" <linux-sh@vger.kernel.org>
In-reply-to: <987664A83D2D224EAE907B061CE93D5301E7281306@orsmsx505.amr.corp.intel.com>
References: <20110614190850.GA13526@linux-mips.org> <987664A83D2D224EAE907B061CE93D5301E7281306@orsmsx505.amr.corp.intel.com>
Sender: linux-mips-bounce@linux-mips.org
User-agent: Mozilla/5.0 (X11; U; Linux x86_64; en-US; rv:1.9.2.17) Gecko/20110428 Fedora/3.1.10-1.fc15 Thunderbird/3.1.10
On 06/14/2011 03:08 PM, Luck, Tony wrote:
> diff --git a/arch/ia64/Kconfig b/arch/ia64/Kconfig
> index 38280ef..849805a 100644
> --- a/arch/ia64/Kconfig
> +++ b/arch/ia64/Kconfig
> @@ -23,6 +23,7 @@ config IA64
>       select HAVE_ARCH_TRACEHOOK
>       select HAVE_DMA_API_DEBUG
>       select HAVE_GENERIC_HARDIRQS
> +     select HAVE_PC_PARPORT
>       select GENERIC_IRQ_PROBE
>       select GENERIC_PENDING_IRQ if SMP
>       select IRQ_PER_CPU
> 
> I took a look at the back of all my ia64 systems - none of them
> have a parallel port.  It seems unlikely that new systems will
> start adding parallel ports :-)
> 
> So even if I had a printer (or other device) that used a parallel
> port, I have no way to test it.
> 

If it has PCI slots, it can have a parallel port.

        -hpa

-- 
H. Peter Anvin, Intel Open Source Technology Center
I work for Intel.  I don't speak on their behalf.


<Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread>