linux-mips
[Top] [All Lists]

Re: [RFC,PATCH] Cleanup PC parallel port Kconfig

To: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>
Subject: Re: [RFC,PATCH] Cleanup PC parallel port Kconfig
From: Guan Xuetao <gxt@mprc.pku.edu.cn>
Date: Wed, 15 Jun 2011 09:24:06 +0800
Cc: linux-arch@vger.kernel.org, Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>, Chen Liqin <liqin.chen@sunplusct.com>, Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@tilera.com>, Chris Zankel <chris@zankel.net>, "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>, Fenghua Yu <fenghua.yu@intel.com>, Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org>, Helge Deller <deller@gmx.de>, "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>, Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>, Ivan Kokshaysky <ink@jurassic.park.msu.ru>, "James E.J. Bottomley" <jejb@parisc-linux.org>, Jesper Nilsson <jesper.nilsson@axis.com>, Kyle McMartin <kyle@mcmartin.ca>, Lennox Wu <lennox.wu@gmail.com>, Matt Turner <mattst88@gmail.com>, Michal Simek <monstr@monstr.eu>, Mikael Starvik <starvik@axis.com>, Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>, Paul Mundt <lethal@linux-sh.org>, Richard Henderson <rth@twiddle.net>, Russell King <linux@arm.linux.org.uk>, sparclinux@vger.kernel.org, Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>, Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com>, x86@kernel.org, Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp>, microblaze-uclinux@itee.uq.edu.au, linux-alpha@vger.kernel.org, linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org, linux-cris-kernel@axis.com, linux-ia64@vger.kernel.org, linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, linux-m68k@vger.kernel.org, linux-mips@linux-mips.org, linux-parisc@vger.kernel.org, linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org, linux-sh@vger.kernel.org
In-reply-to: <20110614190850.GA13526@linux-mips.org>
Organization: MPRC, PKU
References: <20110614190850.GA13526@linux-mips.org>
Reply-to: gxt@mprc.pku.edu.cn
Sender: linux-mips-bounce@linux-mips.org
On Tue, 2011-06-14 at 20:08 +0100, Ralf Baechle wrote:
> The PC parallel port Kconfig as acquired one of those messy terms to
> describe it's architecture dependencies:
> 
>        depends on (!SPARC64 || PCI) && !SPARC32 && !M32R && !FRV && \
>                (!M68K || ISA) && !MN10300 && !AVR32 && !BLACKFIN
> 
> This isn't just ugly - it also almost certainly describes the dependencies
> too coarse grainedly.  This is an attempt at cleaing the mess up.
> 
> I tried to faithfully aproximate the old behaviour but the existing
> behaviour seems inacurate if not wrong for some architectures or platforms.
> To improve on this I rely on comments from other arch and platforms
> maintainers.  Any system that can take PCI multi-IO card or has a PC-style
> parallel port on the mainboard should probably should now do a
> select HAVE_PC_PARPORT.  And some arch Kconfig files should further
> restrict the use of HAVE_PC_PARPORT to only those platforms that actually
> need it.
> 
> Thanks,
> 
>   Ralf

> diff --git a/arch/unicore32/Kconfig b/arch/unicore32/Kconfig
> index e57dcce..3832e7e 100644
> --- a/arch/unicore32/Kconfig
> +++ b/arch/unicore32/Kconfig
> @@ -8,6 +8,7 @@ config UNICORE32
>       select HAVE_KERNEL_BZIP2
>       select HAVE_KERNEL_LZO
>       select HAVE_KERNEL_LZMA
> +     select HAVE_PC_PARPORT
>       select GENERIC_FIND_FIRST_BIT
>       select GENERIC_IRQ_PROBE
>       select GENERIC_IRQ_SHOW
In UniCore32, only some debug-boards need to support parport.
So I'd like to add HAVE_PC_PARPORT and related configs to certian
*_defconfig, but not in Kconfig.

Thanks Ralf.

Guan Xuetao




<Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread>