linux-mips
[Top] [All Lists]

Re: [stable] [PATCH 3/5 v2] WATCHDOG: mtx1-wdt: fix GPIO toggling

To: Florian Fainelli <florian@openwrt.org>
Subject: Re: [stable] [PATCH 3/5 v2] WATCHDOG: mtx1-wdt: fix GPIO toggling
From: Greg KH <greg@kroah.com>
Date: Sun, 12 Jun 2011 10:04:19 -0700
Cc: Wim Van Sebroeck <wim@iguana.be>, linux-mips@linux-mips.org, linux-watchdog@vger.kernel.org, Manuel Lauss <manuel.lauss@googlemail.com>, Jamie Iles <jamie@jamieiles.com>, stable@kernel.org
Dkim-signature: v=1; a=rsa-sha1; c=relaxed/relaxed; d=messagingengine.com; h=date:from:to:cc:subject:message-id:references:mime-version:content-type:in-reply-to; s=smtpout; bh=M0AP1GzGLMOKkbaG+H33OcnB9uA=; b=q9I0t8mWHMLL9mTGS04hyBbJm5tIll3VaC1SnlDkQoDxp9by+lvJD+OG2c2AJ7C4cfgAjD/vS9xEXMrbMxB5VGE0BrxQu+xoySrM6H1vTg6KP3aQNN7/no8SoN0uFhwbbmxQf0K6ty8N4/sZzx5e0T5A7v+wGfw/3z48jhNzDbc=
In-reply-to: <201106121856.28934.florian@openwrt.org>
References: <201106121856.28934.florian@openwrt.org>
Sender: linux-mips-bounce@linux-mips.org
User-agent: Mutt/1.5.21 (2010-09-15)
On Sun, Jun 12, 2011 at 06:56:28PM +0200, Florian Fainelli wrote:
> Commit e391be76 (MIPS: Alchemy: Clean up GPIO registers and accessors)
> changed the way the GPIO was toggled. Prior to this patch, we would
> always actively drive the GPIO output to either 0 or 1, this patch
> drove the GPIO active to 0, and put the GPIO in tristate to drive it
> to 1, unfortunately this does not work, revert back to active driving.
> 
> Using a signed variable (gstate) to hold the gpio state and using a bit-
> wise operation on it also resulted in toggling value from 1 to -2 since
> the variable is signed. This value was then passed on to gpio_direction_
> output, which always perform a if (value) ... to set the value to the
> gpio, so we were always writing a 1 to this GPIO instead of 1 -> 0 -> 1 ...
> 
> Signed-off-by: Florian Fainelli <florian@openwrt.org>
> ---
> Changes since v1:
> - use gpio_set_value() instead of gpio_direction_output(.., value)
> 
> Stable: [2.6.39+]
> 

<formletter>

This is not the correct way to submit patches for inclusion in the
stable kernel tree.  Please read Documentation/stable_kernel_rules.txt
for how to do this properly.

</formletter>

<Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread>