linux-mips
[Top] [All Lists]

Re: [PATCH 3/5] v2 seccomp_filters: Enable ftrace-based system call filt

To: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH 3/5] v2 seccomp_filters: Enable ftrace-based system call filtering
From: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
Date: Sun, 29 May 2011 22:17:13 +0200
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>, Will Drewry <wad@chromium.org>, Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>, Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>, James Morris <jmorris@namei.org>, linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, Eric Paris <eparis@redhat.com>, kees.cook@canonical.com, agl@chromium.org, "Serge E. Hallyn" <serge@hallyn.com>, Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>, Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>, Tejun Heo <tj@kernel.org>, Michal Marek <mmarek@suse.cz>, Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com>, Jiri Slaby <jslaby@suse.cz>, David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>, Russell King <linux@arm.linux.org.uk>, Michal Simek <monstr@monstr.eu>, Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>, Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>, Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>, Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com>, Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com>, linux390@de.ibm.com, Paul Mundt <lethal@linux-sh.org>, "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>, "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>, x86@kernel.org, linux-arm-kernel <linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org>, linux-mips@linux-mips.org, linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org, linux-s390@vger.kernel.org, linux-sh@vger.kernel.org, sparclinux@vger.kernel.org, Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
In-reply-to: <1306345402.21578.100.camel@twins>
Original-recipient: rfc822;linux-mips@linux-mips.org
References: <20110517131902.GF21441@elte.hu> <BANLkTikBK3-KZ10eErQ6Eex_L6Qe2aZang@mail.gmail.com> <1305807728.11267.25.camel@gandalf.stny.rr.com> <BANLkTiki8aQJbFkKOFC+s6xAEiuVyMM5MQ@mail.gmail.com> <BANLkTim9UyYAGhg06vCFLxkYPX18cPymEQ@mail.gmail.com> <1306254027.18455.47.camel@twins> <20110524195435.GC27634@elte.hu> <alpine.LFD.2.02.1105242239230.3078@ionos> <20110525150153.GE29179@elte.hu> <1306345402.21578.100.camel@twins>
Sender: linux-mips-bounce@linux-mips.org
User-agent: Mutt/1.5.20 (2009-08-17)
* Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> wrote:

> But face it, you can argue until you're blue in the face,

That is not a technical argument though - and i considered and 
answered every valid technical argument made by you and Thomas.
You were either not able to or not willing to counter them.

> [...] but both tglx and I will NAK any and all patches that extend 
> perf/ftrace beyond the passive observing role.

The thing is, perf is *already* well beyond the 'passive observer' 
role: we already generate lots of 'action' in response to events. We 
generate notification signals, we write events - all of which can 
(and does) modify program behavior.

So what's your point? There's no "passive observer" role really - 
it's apparently just that you dislike this use of instrumentation 
while you approve of other uses.

Thanks,

        Ingo

<Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread>