linux-mips
[Top] [All Lists]

Re: [PATCH 3/5] v2 seccomp_filters: Enable ftrace-based system ca

To: James Morris <jmorris@namei.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH 3/5] v2 seccomp_filters: Enable ftrace-based system call filtering
From: Pavel Machek <pavel@ucw.cz>
Date: Thu, 26 May 2011 06:27:52 +0000
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>, linux-mips@linux-mips.org, linux-sh@vger.kernel.org, Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>, Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>, Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com>, Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com>, David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>, Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>, Eric Paris <eparis@redhat.com>, "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>, sparclinux@vger.kernel.org, Jiri Slaby <jslaby@suse.cz>, linux-s390@vger.kernel.org, Russell King <linux@arm.linux.org.uk>, x86@kernel.org, Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>, Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>, Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>, kees.cook@canonical.com, "Serge E. Hallyn" <serge@hallyn.com>, Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl>, Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>, Tejun Heo <tj@kernel.org>, Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>, linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org, Michal Marek <mmarek@suse.cz>, Michal Simek <monstr@monstr.eu>, Will Drewry <wad@chromium.org>, linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org, linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>, Paul Mundt <lethal@linux-sh.org>, Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com>, linux390@de.ibm.com, Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>, agl@chromium.org, "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>
In-reply-to: <alpine.LRH.2.00.1105161006340.21749@tundra.namei.org>
Original-recipient: rfc822;linux-mips@linux-mips.org
References: <1304017638.18763.205.camel@gandalf.stny.rr.com> <1305169376-2363-1-git-send-email-wad@chromium.org> <20110512074850.GA9937@elte.hu> <alpine.LRH.2.00.1105122133500.31507@tundra.namei.org> <20110512130104.GA2912@elte.hu> <alpine.LRH.2.00.1105131018040.3047@tundra.namei.org> <20110513121034.GG21022@elte.hu> <alpine.LRH.2.00.1105161006340.21749@tundra.namei.org>
Sender: linux-mips-bounce@linux-mips.org
User-agent: Mutt/1.5.18 (2008-05-17)
  On Mon 2011-05-16 10:36:05, James Morris wrote:
> On Fri, 13 May 2011, Ingo Molnar wrote:
> How do you reason about the behavior of the system as a whole?
> 
> 
> > I argue that this is the LSM and audit subsystems designed right: in the 
> > long 
> > run it could allow everything that LSM does at the moment - and so much 
> > more 
> > ...
> 
> Now you're proposing a redesign of the security subsystem.  That's a 
> significant undertaking.
> 
> In the meantime, we have a simple, well-defined enhancement to seccomp 
> which will be very useful to current users in reducing their kernel attack 
> surface.

Well, you can do the same with subterfugue, even without kernel
changes. But that's ptrace -- slow. (And it already shows that syscall
based filters are extremely tricky to configure).

If yu want speed, seccomp+server for non-permitted operations seems like 
reasonable way.

-- 
(english) http://www.livejournal.com/~pavelmachek
(cesky, pictures) 
http://atrey.karlin.mff.cuni.cz/~pavel/picture/horses/blog.html

<Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread>