linux-mips
[Top] [All Lists]

Re: [PATCH 3/5] v2 seccomp_filters: Enable ftrace-based system call filt

To: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
Subject: Re: [PATCH 3/5] v2 seccomp_filters: Enable ftrace-based system call filtering
From: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>
Date: Tue, 24 May 2011 16:14:22 -0400
Cc: Will Drewry <wad@chromium.org>, Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>, Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>, James Morris <jmorris@namei.org>, linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, Eric Paris <eparis@redhat.com>, kees.cook@canonical.com, agl@chromium.org, "Serge E. Hallyn" <serge@hallyn.com>, Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>, Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>, Tejun Heo <tj@kernel.org>, Michal Marek <mmarek@suse.cz>, Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com>, Jiri Slaby <jslaby@suse.cz>, David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>, Russell King <linux@arm.linux.org.uk>, Michal Simek <monstr@monstr.eu>, Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>, Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>, Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>, Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com>, Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com>, linux390@de.ibm.com, Paul Mundt <lethal@linux-sh.org>, "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>, Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>, "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>, x86@kernel.org, linux-arm-kernel <linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org>, linux-mips@linux-mips.org, linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org, linux-s390@vger.kernel.org, linux-sh@vger.kernel.org, sparclinux@vger.kernel.org, Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
In-reply-to: <20110524200815.GD27634@elte.hu>
Original-recipient: rfc822;linux-mips@linux-mips.org
References: <1305563026.5456.19.camel@gandalf.stny.rr.com> <20110516165249.GB10929@elte.hu> <1305565422.5456.21.camel@gandalf.stny.rr.com> <20110517124212.GB21441@elte.hu> <1305637528.5456.723.camel@gandalf.stny.rr.com> <20110517131902.GF21441@elte.hu> <BANLkTikBK3-KZ10eErQ6Eex_L6Qe2aZang@mail.gmail.com> <1305807728.11267.25.camel@gandalf.stny.rr.com> <BANLkTiki8aQJbFkKOFC+s6xAEiuVyMM5MQ@mail.gmail.com> <BANLkTim9UyYAGhg06vCFLxkYPX18cPymEQ@mail.gmail.com> <20110524200815.GD27634@elte.hu>
Sender: linux-mips-bounce@linux-mips.org
On Tue, 2011-05-24 at 22:08 +0200, Ingo Molnar wrote:
> * Will Drewry <wad@chromium.org> wrote:

> But there could be a perf_tp_event_ret() or perf_tp_event_check() entry that 
> code like seccomp which wants to use event results can use.

We should name it something else. The "perf_tp.." is a misnomer as it
has nothing to do with performance monitoring. "dynamic_event_.." maybe,
as it is dynamic to the affect that we can use jump labels to enable or
disable it.

-- Steve



<Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread>