linux-mips
[Top] [All Lists]

Re: [PATCH 3/5] v2 seccomp_filters: Enable ftrace-based system call filt

To: Will Drewry <wad@chromium.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH 3/5] v2 seccomp_filters: Enable ftrace-based system call filtering
From: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>
Date: Thu, 19 May 2011 08:22:08 -0400
Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>, Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>, James Morris <jmorris@namei.org>, linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>, Eric Paris <eparis@redhat.com>, kees.cook@canonical.com, agl@chromium.org, "Serge E. Hallyn" <serge@hallyn.com>, Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>, Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>, Tejun Heo <tj@kernel.org>, Michal Marek <mmarek@suse.cz>, Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com>, Roland McGrath <roland@redhat.com>, Jiri Slaby <jslaby@suse.cz>, David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>, Russell King <linux@arm.linux.org.uk>, Michal Simek <monstr@monstr.eu>, Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>, Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>, Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>, Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com>, Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com>, linux390@de.ibm.com, Paul Mundt <lethal@linux-sh.org>, "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>, Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>, "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>, x86@kernel.org, linux-arm-kernel <linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org>, linux-mips@linux-mips.org, linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org, linux-s390@vger.kernel.org, linux-sh@vger.kernel.org, sparclinux@vger.kernel.org, Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
In-reply-to: <BANLkTikBK3-KZ10eErQ6Eex_L6Qe2aZang@mail.gmail.com>
Original-recipient: rfc822;linux-mips@linux-mips.org
References: <20110513125452.GD3924@elte.hu> <1305292132.2466.26.camel@twins> <20110513131800.GA7883@elte.hu> <1305294935.2466.64.camel@twins> <20110513145737.GC32688@elte.hu> <1305563026.5456.19.camel@gandalf.stny.rr.com> <20110516165249.GB10929@elte.hu> <1305565422.5456.21.camel@gandalf.stny.rr.com> <20110517124212.GB21441@elte.hu> <1305637528.5456.723.camel@gandalf.stny.rr.com> <20110517131902.GF21441@elte.hu> <BANLkTikBK3-KZ10eErQ6Eex_L6Qe2aZang@mail.gmail.com>
Sender: linux-mips-bounce@linux-mips.org
On Wed, 2011-05-18 at 21:07 -0700, Will Drewry wrote:

> Do event_* that return non-void exist in the tree at all now?  I've
> looked at the various tracepoint macros as well as some of the other
> handlers (trace_function, perf_tp_event, etc) and I'm not seeing any
> places where a return value is honored nor could be.  At best, the
> perf_tp_event can be short-circuited it in the hlist_for_each, but
> it'd still need a way to bubble up a failure and result in not calling
> the trace/event that the hook precedes.

No, none of the current trace hooks have return values. That was what I
was talking about how to implement in my previous emails.

-- Steve



<Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread>