linux-mips
[Top] [All Lists]

Re: [PATCH 3/5] v2 seccomp_filters: Enable ftrace-based system call filt

To: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
Subject: Re: [PATCH 3/5] v2 seccomp_filters: Enable ftrace-based system call filtering
From: James Morris <jmorris@namei.org>
Date: Tue, 17 May 2011 23:29:36 +1000 (EST)
Cc: Will Drewry <wad@chromium.org>, linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>, Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>, Eric Paris <eparis@redhat.com>, kees.cook@canonical.com, agl@chromium.org, Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl>, "Serge E. Hallyn" <serge@hallyn.com>, Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>, Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>, Tejun Heo <tj@kernel.org>, Michal Marek <mmarek@suse.cz>, Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com>, Jiri Slaby <jslaby@suse.cz>, Russell King <linux@arm.linux.org.uk>, Michal Simek <monstr@monstr.eu>, Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>, Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>, Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>, Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com>, Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com>, linux390@de.ibm.com, Paul Mundt <lethal@linux-sh.org>, "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>, Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>, "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>, x86@kernel.org, Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>, linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org, linux-mips@linux-mips.org, linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org, linux-s390@vger.kernel.org, linux-sh@vger.kernel.org, sparclinux@vger.kernel.org, Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
In-reply-to: <20110517131058.GE21441@elte.hu>
Original-recipient: rfc822;linux-mips@linux-mips.org
References: <1304017638.18763.205.camel@gandalf.stny.rr.com> <1305169376-2363-1-git-send-email-wad@chromium.org> <20110512074850.GA9937@elte.hu> <alpine.LRH.2.00.1105122133500.31507@tundra.namei.org> <20110512130104.GA2912@elte.hu> <alpine.LRH.2.00.1105131018040.3047@tundra.namei.org> <20110513121034.GG21022@elte.hu> <alpine.LRH.2.00.1105161006340.21749@tundra.namei.org> <20110516150837.GA513@elte.hu> <alpine.LRH.2.00.1105171214330.31710@tundra.namei.org> <20110517131058.GE21441@elte.hu>
Sender: linux-mips-bounce@linux-mips.org
User-agent: Alpine 2.00 (LRH 1167 2008-08-23)
On Tue, 17 May 2011, Ingo Molnar wrote:

> I'm not sure i get your point.

Your example was not complete as described.  After an apparently simple 
specification, you've since added several qualifiers and assumptions, and 
I still doubt that it's complete.

A higher level goal would look like

"Allow a sandbox app access only to approved resources, to contain the 
effects of flaws in the app", or similar.

Note that this includes a threat model (remote attacker taking control of 
the app) and a general and fully stated strategy for dealing with it.

From there, you can start to analyze how to implement the goal, at which 
point you'd start thinking about configuration, assumptions, filesystem 
access, namespaces, indirect access (e.g. via sockets, rpc, ipc, shared 
memory, invocation).

Anyway, this is getting off track from the main discussion, but you 
asked...



- James
-- 
James Morris
<jmorris@namei.org>

<Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread>