linux-mips
[Top] [All Lists]

Re: [PATCH 3/5] v2 seccomp_filters: Enable ftrace-based system call filt

To: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH 3/5] v2 seccomp_filters: Enable ftrace-based system call filtering
From: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
Date: Fri, 13 May 2011 14:49:02 +0200
Cc: James Morris <jmorris@namei.org>, Will Drewry <wad@chromium.org>, linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>, Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>, Eric Paris <eparis@redhat.com>, kees.cook@canonical.com, agl@chromium.org, "Serge E. Hallyn" <serge@hallyn.com>, Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>, Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>, Tejun Heo <tj@kernel.org>, Michal Marek <mmarek@suse.cz>, Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com>, Roland McGrath <roland@redhat.com>, Jiri Slaby <jslaby@suse.cz>, David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>, Russell King <linux@arm.linux.org.uk>, Michal Simek <monstr@monstr.eu>, Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>, Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>, Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>, Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com>, Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com>, linux390@de.ibm.com, Paul Mundt <lethal@linux-sh.org>, "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>, Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>, "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>, x86@kernel.org, linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org, microblaze-uclinux@itee.uq.edu.au, linux-mips@linux-mips.org, linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org, linux-s390@vger.kernel.org, linux-sh@vger.kernel.org, sparclinux@vger.kernel.org, Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
In-reply-to: <1305290370.2466.14.camel@twins>
Original-recipient: rfc822;linux-mips@linux-mips.org
References: <1304017638.18763.205.camel@gandalf.stny.rr.com> <1305169376-2363-1-git-send-email-wad@chromium.org> <20110512074850.GA9937@elte.hu> <alpine.LRH.2.00.1105122133500.31507@tundra.namei.org> <20110512130104.GA2912@elte.hu> <alpine.LRH.2.00.1105131018040.3047@tundra.namei.org> <20110513121034.GG21022@elte.hu> <1305289146.2466.8.camel@twins> <20110513122646.GA3924@elte.hu> <1305290370.2466.14.camel@twins>
Sender: linux-mips-bounce@linux-mips.org
User-agent: Mutt/1.5.20 (2009-08-17)
* Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org> wrote:

> > Why should we have two callbacks next to each other:
> > 
> >     event_vfs_getname(result);
> >     result = check_event_vfs_getname(result);
> > 
> > if one could do it all?
> 
> Did you actually read the bit where I said that check_event_* (although
> I still think that name sucks) could imply a matching event_*?

No, did not notice that - and yes that solves this particular problem.

So given that by your own admission it makes sense to share the facilities at 
the low level, i also argue that it makes sense to share as high up as 
possible.

Are you perhaps arguing for a ->observe flag that would make 100% sure that the 
default behavior for events is observe-only? That would make sense indeed.

Otherwise both cases really want to use all the same facilities for event 
discovery, setup, control and potential extraction of events.

Thanks,

        Ingo

<Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread>