linux-mips
[Top] [All Lists]

Re: [PATCH 3/5] v2 seccomp_filters: Enable ftrace-based system call filt

To: Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
Subject: Re: [PATCH 3/5] v2 seccomp_filters: Enable ftrace-based system call filtering
From: James Morris <jmorris@namei.org>
Date: Fri, 13 May 2011 10:18:52 +1000 (EST)
Cc: Will Drewry <wad@chromium.org>, linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>, Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>, Eric Paris <eparis@redhat.com>, kees.cook@canonical.com, agl@chromium.org, Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl>, "Serge E. Hallyn" <serge@hallyn.com>, Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>, Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>, Tejun Heo <tj@kernel.org>, Michal Marek <mmarek@suse.cz>, Oleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com>, Roland McGrath <roland@redhat.com>, Jiri Slaby <jslaby@suse.cz>, David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>, Russell King <linux@arm.linux.org.uk>, Michal Simek <monstr@monstr.eu>, Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>, Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>, Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>, Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com>, Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com>, linux390@de.ibm.com, Paul Mundt <lethal@linux-sh.org>, "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>, Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>, "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>, x86@kernel.org, Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>, linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org, microblaze-uclinux@itee.uq.edu.au, linux-mips@linux-mips.org, linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org, linux-s390@vger.kernel.org, linux-sh@vger.kernel.org, sparclinux@vger.kernel.org, Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
In-reply-to: <20110512130104.GA2912@elte.hu>
Original-recipient: rfc822;linux-mips@linux-mips.org
References: <1304017638.18763.205.camel@gandalf.stny.rr.com> <1305169376-2363-1-git-send-email-wad@chromium.org> <20110512074850.GA9937@elte.hu> <alpine.LRH.2.00.1105122133500.31507@tundra.namei.org> <20110512130104.GA2912@elte.hu>
Sender: linux-mips-bounce@linux-mips.org
User-agent: Alpine 2.00 (LRH 1167 2008-08-23)
On Thu, 12 May 2011, Ingo Molnar wrote:
> Funnily enough, back then you wrote this:
> 
>   " I'm concerned that we're seeing yet another security scheme being 
> designed on 
>     the fly, without a well-formed threat model, and without taking into 
> account 
>     lessons learned from the seemingly endless parade of similar, failed 
> schemes. "
> 
> so when and how did your opinion of this scheme turn from it being an 
> "endless 
> parade of failed schemes" to it being a "well-defined and readily 
> understandable feature"? :-)

When it was defined in a way which limited its purpose to reducing the 
attack surface of the sycall interface.


- James
-- 
James Morris
<jmorris@namei.org>

<Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread>