linux-mips
[Top] [All Lists]

Re: [PATCH v2] MIPS: Kernel crashes on boot with SPARSEMEM + HIGHMEM ena

To: David Daney <ddaney@caviumnetworks.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v2] MIPS: Kernel crashes on boot with SPARSEMEM + HIGHMEM enabled
From: Michael Sundius <msundius@cisco.com>
Date: Fri, 01 Apr 2011 11:41:46 -0700
Cc: Kevin Cernekee <cernekee@gmail.com>, Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>, David VomLehn <dvomlehn@cisco.com>, Dave Hansen <dave@linux.vnet.ibm.com>, Andy Whitcroft <apw@shadowen.org>, Jon Fraser <jfraser@broadcom.com>, linux-mips@linux-mips.org, linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, stable@kernel.org
Dkim-signature: v=1; a=rsa-sha256; c=relaxed/simple; d=cisco.com; i=msundius@cisco.com; l=401; q=dns/txt; s=iport; t=1301683355; x=1302892955; h=message-id:date:from:mime-version:to:cc:subject: references:in-reply-to:content-transfer-encoding; bh=ifSnFS60L/+GJEkut02Z5ikgbokeyw19FOhTWRc6PBk=; b=QMJ/ckTFNKmHzwLtZPB1xULMKxhyxL7XnJZzT12ra/DMjT7Ka6yLI63E 7Km0JDfPGw30YiOp0sJcdF+eT1TB57QUQDZhDZXdHSZ68Y2ulIW7asmYi +ToKCmOCkSSi6rIkqjJtUEq2P0a6FCD8We2zhFgZHYAtj6r6TedG4Ayj0 s=;
In-reply-to: <4D9603D8.2010709@caviumnetworks.com>
Original-recipient: rfc822;linux-mips@linux-mips.org
References: <c300b67a7a723369872c0b9a023d0b2e@localhost> <4D9603D8.2010709@caviumnetworks.com>
Sender: linux-mips-bounce@linux-mips.org
User-agent: Thunderbird 2.0.0.23 (X11/20090825)
David Daney wrote:


I think this may do the same thing as my patch:

http://patchwork.linux-mips.org/patch/1988/

Although my patch had different motivations, and changes some other things around too.

David Daney

I'm not really sure why your kernel or initrd would be in memory was not within
the range that had been accounted for.  are you saying its in high mem?




<Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread>