linux-mips
[Top] [All Lists]

Re: [PATCH] sched: provide scheduler_ipi() callback in response to smp_s

To: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH] sched: provide scheduler_ipi() callback in response to smp_send_reschedule()
From: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>
Date: Mon, 07 Feb 2011 10:26:32 +1100
Cc: Richard Henderson <rth@twiddle.net>, Ivan Kokshaysky <ink@jurassic.park.msu.ru>, Matt Turner <mattst88@gmail.com>, Russell King <linux@arm.linux.org.uk>, Mike Frysinger <vapier@gentoo.org>, Mikael Starvik <starvik@axis.com>, Jesper Nilsson <jesper.nilsson@axis.com>, Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com>, Fenghua Yu <fenghua.yu@intel.com>, Hirokazu Takata <takata@linux-m32r.org>, Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>, David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>, Koichi Yasutake <yasutake.koichi@jp.panasonic.com>, Kyle McMartin <kyle@mcmartin.ca>, Helge Deller <deller@gmx.de>, "James E.J. Bottomley" <jejb@parisc-linux.org>, Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>, Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com>, Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com>, linux390@de.ibm.com, Paul Mundt <lethal@linux-sh.org>, "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>, Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@tilera.com>, Jeff Dike <jdike@addtoit.com>, Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>, Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>, "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>, x86@kernel.org, Jeremy Fitzhardinge <jeremy.fitzhardinge@citrix.com>, Konrad Rzeszutek Wilk <konrad.wilk@oracle.com>, linux-alpha@vger.kernel.org, linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org, uclinux-dist-devel@blackfin.uclinux.org, linux-cris-kernel@axis.com, linux-ia64@vger.kernel.org, linux-m32r@ml.linux-m32r.org, linux-m32r-ja@ml.linux-m32r.org, linux-mips@linux-mips.org, linux-am33-list@redhat.com, linux-parisc@vger.kernel.org, linuxppc-dev@lists.ozlabs.org, linux-s390@vger.kernel.org, linux-sh@vger.kernel.org, sparclinux@vger.kernel.org, user-mode-linux-devel@lists.sourceforge.net, user-mode-linux-user@lists.sourceforge.net, xen-devel@lists.xensource.com, virtualization@lists.osdl.org, Linux-Arch <linux-arch@vger.kernel.org>
In-reply-to: <1295262433.30950.53.camel@laptop>
Original-recipient: rfc822;linux-mips@linux-mips.org
References: <1295262433.30950.53.camel@laptop>
Sender: linux-mips-bounce@linux-mips.org
On Mon, 2011-01-17 at 12:07 +0100, Peter Zijlstra wrote:
> diff --git a/arch/powerpc/kernel/smp.c b/arch/powerpc/kernel/smp.c
> index 68034bb..7ee0fc3 100644
> --- a/arch/powerpc/kernel/smp.c
> +++ b/arch/powerpc/kernel/smp.c
> @@ -128,6 +128,7 @@ static irqreturn_t call_function_action(int irq, void 
> *data)
>  static irqreturn_t reschedule_action(int irq, void *data)
>  {
>         /* we just need the return path side effect of checking need_resched 
> */
> +       scheduler_ipi();
>         return IRQ_HANDLED;
>  }
>   

You missed:

diff --git a/arch/powerpc/kernel/smp.c b/arch/powerpc/kernel/smp.c
index 9813605..467d122 100644
--- a/arch/powerpc/kernel/smp.c
+++ b/arch/powerpc/kernel/smp.c
@@ -98,6 +98,7 @@ void smp_message_recv(int msg)
                break;
        case PPC_MSG_RESCHEDULE:
                /* we notice need_resched on exit */
+               scheduler_ipi();
                break;
        case PPC_MSG_CALL_FUNC_SINGLE:
                generic_smp_call_function_single_interrupt();

Fold that in and add:

Acked-by: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>

(We have two variants of the IPIs)

Cheers,
Ben.



<Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread>