linux-mips
[Top] [All Lists]

Re: [PATCH v4 01/16] MIPS: add initial support for the Atheros AR71XX/AR

To: Florian Fainelli <florian@openwrt.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v4 01/16] MIPS: add initial support for the Atheros AR71XX/AR724X/AR931X SoCs
From: Gabor Juhos <juhosg@openwrt.org>
Date: Mon, 03 Jan 2011 20:35:31 +0100
Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>, linux-mips@linux-mips.org, Imre Kaloz <kaloz@openwrt.org>, "Luis R. Rodriguez" <lrodriguez@atheros.com>, Cliff Holden <Cliff.Holden@atheros.com>, Kathy Giori <Kathy.Giori@atheros.com>
In-reply-to: <201101022143.13712.florian@openwrt.org>
Original-recipient: rfc822;linux-mips@linux-mips.org
References: <1293994589-6794-1-git-send-email-juhosg@openwrt.org> <1293994589-6794-2-git-send-email-juhosg@openwrt.org> <201101022143.13712.florian@openwrt.org>
Sender: linux-mips-bounce@linux-mips.org
User-agent: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; hu-HU; rv:1.9.2.13) Gecko/20101207 Thunderbird/3.1.7
Hi Florian,

<...>

>> +
>> +static DEFINE_SPINLOCK(ath79_device_reset_lock);
>> +
>> +u32 ath79_cpu_freq;
>> +EXPORT_SYMBOL_GPL(ath79_cpu_freq);
>> +
>> +u32 ath79_ahb_freq;
>> +EXPORT_SYMBOL_GPL(ath79_ahb_freq);
>> +
>> +u32 ath79_ddr_freq;
>> +EXPORT_SYMBOL_GPL(ath79_ddr_freq);
> 
> Why not use the Clock API with fixed rates just like how it is done for AR7?

Can you tell me the advantage of that? We can't modify the rates of these
clocks, even we can't {en,dis}able them. Implementing the clock API would add an
unnecessary wrapper layer around the current implementation in my opinion.

Regards,
Gabor

<Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread>