linux-mips
[Top] [All Lists]

Re: [PATCH V2 2/2] MSP onchip root hub over current quirk.

To: Anoop P A <anoop.pa@gmail.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH V2 2/2] MSP onchip root hub over current quirk.
From: Alan Stern <stern@rowland.harvard.edu>
Date: Thu, 23 Dec 2010 11:08:36 -0500 (EST)
Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>, Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@suse.de>, Anatolij Gustschin <agust@denx.de>, Anand Gadiyar <gadiyar@ti.com>, <linux-mips@linux-mips.org>, <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>, <linux-usb@vger.kernel.org>, Sarah Sharp <sarah.a.sharp@linux.intel.com>, Oliver Neukum <oneukum@suse.de>, Hans de Goede <hdegoede@redhat.com>, Paul Mortier <mortier@btinternet.com>, Andiry Xu <andiry.xu@amd.com>
In-reply-to: <1293096541.27661.46.camel@paanoop1-desktop>
Original-recipient: rfc822;linux-mips@linux-mips.org
Sender: linux-mips-bounce@linux-mips.org
On Thu, 23 Dec 2010, Anoop P A wrote:

> > > +                         usb_detect_quirks(hdev);
> > 
> > This line is wrong.  usb_detect_quirks() gets called only once per 
> > device, when the device is initialized.  Besides, you probably want to 
> > use a hub-specific flag for this rather than a device-specific flag.
> 
> Can you point me to an example for the recommended way of doing the
> hack. I don't have much exposure to USB subsystem.

One example, suitable for PCI devices, can be found in 
drivers/usb/host/ehci-pci.c:ehci_pci_setup().

However the best approach would be for you to avoid adding any
special-purpose code at all.  Is it possible to handle
overcurrent-change events in a way that will work just as well for
normal hubs as for your MSP root hub?

Alan Stern


<Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread>