linux-mips
[Top] [All Lists]

Re: [PATCH v2 22/22] bitops: remove minix bitops from asm/bitops.h

To: Akinobu Mita <akinobu.mita@gmail.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v2 22/22] bitops: remove minix bitops from asm/bitops.h
From: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>
Date: Thu, 21 Oct 2010 17:10:10 +0200
Cc: linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, linux-arch@vger.kernel.org, Christoph Hellwig <hch@infradead.org>, Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>, Greg Ungerer <gerg@uclinux.org>, Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org>, Roman Zippel <zippel@linux-m68k.org>, Andreas Schwab <schwab@linux-m68k.org>, linux-m68k@lists.linux-m68k.org, Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com>, Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com>, linux390@de.ibm.com, linux-s390@vger.kernel.org, Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp>, Michal Simek <monstr@monstr.eu>, microblaze-uclinux@itee.uq.edu.au, "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>, sparclinux@vger.kernel.org, Hirokazu Takata <takata@linux-m32r.org>, linux-m32r@ml.linux-m32r.org, Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>, linux-mips@linux-mips.org, Paul Mundt <lethal@linux-sh.org>, linux-sh@vger.kernel.org, Chris Zankel <chris@zankel.net>
In-reply-to: <1287672077-5797-23-git-send-email-akinobu.mita@gmail.com>
Original-recipient: rfc822;linux-mips@linux-mips.org
References: <1287672077-5797-1-git-send-email-akinobu.mita@gmail.com> <1287672077-5797-23-git-send-email-akinobu.mita@gmail.com>
Sender: linux-mips-bounce@linux-mips.org
User-agent: KMail/1.12.2 (Linux/2.6.35-16-generic; KDE/4.3.2; x86_64; ; )
On Thursday 21 October 2010, Akinobu Mita wrote:
> minix bit operations are only used by minix filesystem and useless
> by other modules. Because byte order of inode and block bitmaps is
> defferent on each architecture like below:
> 
> m68k:
>       big-endian 16bit indexed bitmaps
> 
> h8300, microblaze, s390, sparc, m68knommu:
>       big-endian 32 or 64bit indexed bitmaps
> 
> m32r, mips, sh, xtensa:
>       big-endian 32 or 64bit indexed bitmaps for big-endian mode
>       little-endian bitmaps for little-endian mode
> 
> Others:
>       little-endian bitmaps
> 
> In order to move minix bit operations from asm/bitops.h to
> architecture independent code in minix file system, this provides two
> config options.
> 
> CONFIG_MINIX_FS_BIG_ENDIAN_16BIT_INDEXED is only selected by m68k.
> CONFIG_MINIX_FS_NATIVE_ENDIAN is selected by the architectures which
> use native byte order bitmaps (h8300, microblaze, s390, sparc,
> m68knommu, m32r, mips, sh, xtensa).
> The architectures which always use little-endian bitmaps do not select
> these options.
> 
> Finally, we can remove minix bit operations from asm/bitops.h for
> all architectures.
> 
> Signed-off-by: Akinobu Mita <akinobu.mita@gmail.com>

Acked-by: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>

<Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread>