linux-mips
[Top] [All Lists]

Re: [PATCH] init dynamic bin_attribute structures

To: Jiri Kosina <jkosina@suse.cz>
Subject: Re: [PATCH] init dynamic bin_attribute structures
From: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Date: Mon, 15 Mar 2010 11:47:53 -0700 (PDT)
Cc: Wolfram Sang <w.sang@pengutronix.de>, linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, Grant Likely <grant.likely@secretlab.ca>, kernel-janitors@vger.kernel.org, "Eric W. Biederman" <ebiederm@xmission.com>, Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>, Paul Gortmaker <p_gortmaker@yahoo.com>, Alessandro Zummo <a.zummo@towertech.it>, linux-mips@linux-mips.org, rtc-linux@googlegroups.com
In-reply-to: <alpine.LRH.2.00.1003151055060.26353@twin.jikos.cz>
Original-recipient: rfc822;linux-mips@linux-mips.org
References: <alpine.LFD.2.00.1003141054050.3719@i5.linux-foundation.org> <1268612981-9009-1-git-send-email-w.sang@pengutronix.de> <alpine.LRH.2.00.1003151055060.26353@twin.jikos.cz>
Sender: linux-mips-bounce@linux-mips.org
User-agent: Alpine 2.00 (LFD 1167 2008-08-23)

On Mon, 15 Mar 2010, Jiri Kosina wrote:
> 
> I don't understand how cocinelle works, but the resulting patch seems to 
> be incomplete.
> 
> The fix is needed at least in firmware loader (for which Greg has already 
> queued patch), in ACPI thermal driver [1], etc).

The firmware loader should be done differently:

        http://patchwork.kernel.org/patch/84814/

and I suspect that Wolfram may have skipped the thermal one as having been 
done by another patch (that I didn't merge, due to having questions about 
the whole issue, but that I don't have any objections to)

But maybe there is also some limitation to the coccinelle rule too.

                Linus

<Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread>