linux-mips
[Top] [All Lists]

Re: [PATCH] stack2core: show stack message and convert it to core

To: Tejun Heo <tj@kernel.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH] stack2core: show stack message and convert it to core file when kernel die
From: Hui Zhu <teawater@gmail.com>
Date: Wed, 6 Jan 2010 15:07:18 +0800
Cc: Arjan van de Ven <arjan@infradead.org>, Russell King <linux@arm.linux.org.uk>, saeed bishara <saeed.bishara@gmail.com>, Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>, Nicolas Pitre <nico@fluxnic.net>, Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>, David Daney <ddaney@caviumnetworks.com>, Tomaso Paoletti <tpaoletti@caviumnetworks.com>, Chris Dearman <chris@mips.com>, Paul Gortmaker <Paul.Gortmaker@windriver.com>, Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>, Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>, "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>, x86@kernel.org, Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>, Alexey Dobriyan <adobriyan@gmail.com>, Brian Gerst <brgerst@gmail.com>, Rusty Russell <rusty@rustcorp.com.au>, Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>, Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>, Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@suse.de>, "Paul E. McKenney" <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com>, linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org, linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, linux-mips@linux-mips.org, Coly Li <coly.li@suse.de>
Dkim-signature: v=1; a=rsa-sha256; c=relaxed/relaxed; d=gmail.com; s=gamma; h=domainkey-signature:mime-version:received:in-reply-to:references :from:date:message-id:subject:to:cc:content-type :content-transfer-encoding; bh=gatW7sEcaUpHHwvs9tvGjHNlw6EmCSbB7H0Kfohy/q4=; b=pcA9f5GoMQsWUeOvul8aTlLmv9nhkUMBe6nw26YWvFnkjzv95t5ApwIgIH/vXz56mD e2Kfe50dPbdFLmYawQFDv4rZRnjImaXWFuhaATpVg08yHD8e/6h3I4ZQXZIyr9HyF1Zm GCvC2uwRbZrGtHlzM4xNr0VfMCNxTBVBjecA0=
Domainkey-signature: a=rsa-sha1; c=nofws; d=gmail.com; s=gamma; h=mime-version:in-reply-to:references:from:date:message-id:subject:to :cc:content-type:content-transfer-encoding; b=s7EktRjErrvRD0ITTfUlyGuzYhck/WMPvHSvbJApYOAimO41FCoqI4jUA5ucXR3pu4 jRilFDgLzrYAtEHg98FO4oXSqC+7r2W6ZlHsV7sewhFAGHGTKvCSN46FPir6tKEpoAip luJ4kGT7nqJmo45DbQTmJGslXTTeke96+AJyc=
In-reply-to: <4B430457.5020906@kernel.org>
References: <daef60381001030705r93b3fbfkc50e7b9bbc62b334@mail.gmail.com> <4B411F14.1040302@kernel.org> <20100103150134.5bdab023@infradead.org> <4B412341.2010002@kernel.org> <20100103151406.20228c3a@infradead.org> <daef60381001040822q188d7374te5a177c5f9877ac2@mail.gmail.com> <4B4273D6.2010306@kernel.org> <daef60381001050104u5d4adf11k16bec2406501fbd2@mail.gmail.com> <4B430457.5020906@kernel.org>
Sender: linux-mips-bounce@linux-mips.org
Hi,

On Tue, Jan 5, 2010 at 17:20, Tejun Heo <tj@kernel.org> wrote:
> Hello,
>
> On 01/05/2010 06:04 PM, Hui Zhu wrote:
>> I agree with read the current stack message is better.
>>
>> About the extending, I have some question with it:
>> 1.  markup_oops.pl have itself idea, it try use dmesg| markup_oops.pl
>> show what happen to usr.  This is different with s2c.
>> I am not sure people like it have other function with it.  Too much
>> part of this file need to be change.  It need rewrite, just the oops
>> message parse part can be keep.
>
> Yeah, I think you'll need to refactor it and share only the parsing
> frontend.  Just adding a switch (-m or whatever) which puts it into
> machine-friendly translator mode should do the trick.
>
>> 2.  I use perl to work in a long time before, I know it good at parse
>> the text, but I am not sure it good at handle struct like:
>
> You don't need to handle the data structure at all.  Just make it
> parse the dmesg and output machine-friendly formatted output which can
> be processed by s2c.  ie. just make it do the reformatting.

This idea is very cool.  I will do it.  Thanks for help.  :)

Best regards,
Hui

<Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread>