linux-mips
[Top] [All Lists]

Re: [PATCH] stack2core: show stack message and convert it to core

To: Hui Zhu <teawater@gmail.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH] stack2core: show stack message and convert it to core file when kernel die
From: Tejun Heo <tj@kernel.org>
Date: Tue, 05 Jan 2010 18:20:23 +0900
Cc: Arjan van de Ven <arjan@infradead.org>, Russell King <linux@arm.linux.org.uk>, saeed bishara <saeed.bishara@gmail.com>, Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>, Nicolas Pitre <nico@fluxnic.net>, Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>, David Daney <ddaney@caviumnetworks.com>, Tomaso Paoletti <tpaoletti@caviumnetworks.com>, Chris Dearman <chris@mips.com>, Paul Gortmaker <Paul.Gortmaker@windriver.com>, Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>, Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>, "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>, x86@kernel.org, Frederic Weisbecker <fweisbec@gmail.com>, Alexey Dobriyan <adobriyan@gmail.com>, Brian Gerst <brgerst@gmail.com>, Rusty Russell <rusty@rustcorp.com.au>, Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>, Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>, Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@suse.de>, "Paul E. McKenney" <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com>, linux-arm-kernel@lists.infradead.org, linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, linux-mips@linux-mips.org, Coly Li <coly.li@suse.de>
In-reply-to: <daef60381001050104u5d4adf11k16bec2406501fbd2@mail.gmail.com>
References: <daef60381001030705r93b3fbfkc50e7b9bbc62b334@mail.gmail.com> <4B411F14.1040302@kernel.org> <20100103150134.5bdab023@infradead.org> <4B412341.2010002@kernel.org> <20100103151406.20228c3a@infradead.org> <daef60381001040822q188d7374te5a177c5f9877ac2@mail.gmail.com> <4B4273D6.2010306@kernel.org> <daef60381001050104u5d4adf11k16bec2406501fbd2@mail.gmail.com>
Sender: linux-mips-bounce@linux-mips.org
User-agent: Mozilla/5.0 (X11; U; Linux x86_64; en-US; rv:1.9.1.5) Gecko/20091130 SUSE/3.0.0-1.1.1 Thunderbird/3.0
Hello,

On 01/05/2010 06:04 PM, Hui Zhu wrote:
> I agree with read the current stack message is better.
> 
> About the extending, I have some question with it:
> 1.  markup_oops.pl have itself idea, it try use dmesg| markup_oops.pl
> show what happen to usr.  This is different with s2c.
> I am not sure people like it have other function with it.  Too much
> part of this file need to be change.  It need rewrite, just the oops
> message parse part can be keep.

Yeah, I think you'll need to refactor it and share only the parsing
frontend.  Just adding a switch (-m or whatever) which puts it into
machine-friendly translator mode should do the trick.

> 2.  I use perl to work in a long time before, I know it good at parse
> the text, but I am not sure it good at handle struct like:

You don't need to handle the data structure at all.  Just make it
parse the dmesg and output machine-friendly formatted output which can
be processed by s2c.  ie. just make it do the reformatting.

> Even if what happen, I will keep a c s2c with myself.  :)

That will be sad.  I really want it too.  :-)

Thanks.

-- 
tejun

<Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread>