linux-mips
[Top] [All Lists]

Re: [PATCH -v5 02/11] MIPS: add mips_timecounter_read() to get high prec

To: Wu Zhangjin <wuzhangjin@gmail.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH -v5 02/11] MIPS: add mips_timecounter_read() to get high precision timestamp
From: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>
Date: Mon, 26 Oct 2009 10:01:07 -0400
Cc: linux-mips@linux-mips.org, linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>, Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>, Nicholas Mc Guire <der.herr@hofr.at>, Richard Sandiford <rdsandiford@googlemail.com>, David Daney <ddaney@caviumnetworks.com>, Adam Nemet <anemet@caviumnetworks.com>, Patrik Kluba <kpajko79@gmail.com>
In-reply-to: <2f73eae542c47ac5bbb9f7280e6c0271d193e90d.1256483735.git.wuzhangjin@gmail.com>
Organization: Kihon Technologies Inc.
Original-recipient: rfc822;linux-mips@linux-mips.org
References: <cover.1256482555.git.wuzhangjin@gmail.com> <028867b99ec532b84963a35e7d552becc783cafc.1256483735.git.wuzhangjin@gmail.com> <2f73eae542c47ac5bbb9f7280e6c0271d193e90d.1256483735.git.wuzhangjin@gmail.com>
Reply-to: rostedt@goodmis.org
Sender: linux-mips-bounce@linux-mips.org
On Sun, 2009-10-25 at 23:16 +0800, Wu Zhangjin wrote:
> This patch implement a mips_timecounter_read(), which can be used to get
> high precision timestamp without extra lock.
> 
> It is based on the clock counter register and the
> timecounter/cyclecounter abstraction layer of kernel.
> 
> Signed-off-by: Wu Zhangjin <wuzhangjin@gmail.com>
> ---
>  arch/mips/include/asm/time.h |   19 +++++++++++++++++++
>  arch/mips/kernel/csrc-r4k.c  |   41 +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
>  arch/mips/kernel/time.c      |    2 ++

Some patches touch core tracing code, and some are arch specific. Now
the question is how do we go. I prefer that we go the path of the
tracing tree (easier for me to test). But every patch that touches MIPS
arch, needs an Acked-by from the MIPS maintainer. Which I see is Ralf
(on the Cc of this patch set.)

Thanks,

-- Steve



<Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread>