linux-mips
[Top] [All Lists]

[PATCH 00/11] Add support for GCC's __builtin_unreachable() and use it i

To: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>, Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Subject: [PATCH 00/11] Add support for GCC's __builtin_unreachable() and use it in BUG (v2).
From: David Daney <ddaney@caviumnetworks.com>
Date: Mon, 14 Sep 2009 14:50:58 -0700
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>, Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>, "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>, x86@kernel.org, ralf@linux-mips.org, linux-mips@linux-mips.org, Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com>, Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com>, linux390@de.ibm.com, linux-s390@vger.kernel.org, David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>, Koichi Yasutake <yasutake.koichi@jp.panasonic.com>, linux-am33-list@redhat.com, Kyle McMartin <kyle@mcmartin.ca>, Helge Deller <deller@gmx.de>, linux-parisc@vger.kernel.org, Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>, Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>, linuxppc-dev@ozlabs.org, Richard Henderson <rth@twiddle.net>, Ivan Kokshaysky <ink@jurassic.park.msu.ru>, linux-alpha@vger.kernel.org, Haavard Skinnemoen <hskinnemoen@atmel.com>, Mike Frysinger <vapier@gentoo.org>, uclinux-dist-devel@blackfin.uclinux.org, Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>, linux-arch@vger.kernel.org, Roland McGrath <roland@redhat.com>
Original-recipient: rfc822;linux-mips@linux-mips.org
Sender: linux-mips-bounce@linux-mips.org
User-agent: Thunderbird 2.0.0.21 (X11/20090320)
When I sent the first version, I had not realized that Roland McGrath
had only a day or two earlier submitted a very similar patch (although
one that only fixed up the x86 case).

I have been working on this quite a while now, starting with adding
the required support to GCC, so with an eye towards finishing it up I
have this new version.

From the announcement of the first version:

Starting with version 4.5, GCC has a new built-in function called
__builtin_unreachable().  The function tells the compiler that control
flow will never reach that point.  Currently we trick the compiler by
putting in for(;;); but this has the disadvantage that extra code is
emitted for an endless loop.  For an i386 kernel using
__builtin_unreachable() results in an defaultconfig that is nearly 4000
bytes smaller.

This patch set adds support to compiler.h creating a
new macro usable in the kernel called unreachable().  If the compiler
lacks __builtin_unreachable(), it just expands to for(;;).

The x86 and MIPS patches I actually tested with a GCC-4.5 snapshot.
Lacking the ability to test the rest of the architectures, I just did
what seemed right without even trying to compile the kernel.

For version 2:

I fixed a couple of checkpatch issues, and simplified the
unreachable() macro for the pre-GCC-4.5 case (as suggested by Richard
Henderson).  Also several Acked-by: were added.

New in this version (as suggested by Ingo Molnar) I added 11/11 which
uses unreachable() in asm-generic/bug.h for !CONFIG_BUG case.  This
one may be a little controversial as it will end up making code
slightly larger when !CONFIG_BUG and you are using a pre-GCC-4.5
compiler.

I will reply with the 11 patches.

David Daney (11):
  Add support for GCC-4.5's __builtin_unreachable() to compiler.h (v2)
  x86: Convert BUG() to use unreachable()
  MIPS: Convert BUG() to use unreachable()
  s390: Convert BUG() to use unreachable()
  mn10300: Convert BUG() to use unreachable()
  parisc: Convert BUG() to use unreachable()
  powerpc: Convert BUG() to use unreachable()
  alpha: Convert BUG() to use unreachable()
  avr32: Convert BUG() to use unreachable()
  blackfin: Convert BUG() to use unreachable()
  Use unreachable() in asm-generic/bug.h for !CONFIG_BUG case.

 arch/alpha/include/asm/bug.h    |    3 ++-
 arch/avr32/include/asm/bug.h    |    2 +-
 arch/blackfin/include/asm/bug.h |    2 +-
 arch/mips/include/asm/bug.h     |    4 +---
 arch/mn10300/include/asm/bug.h  |    3 ++-
 arch/parisc/include/asm/bug.h   |    4 ++--
 arch/powerpc/include/asm/bug.h  |    2 +-
 arch/s390/include/asm/bug.h     |    2 +-
 arch/x86/include/asm/bug.h      |    4 ++--
 include/asm-generic/bug.h       |    4 ++--
 include/linux/compiler-gcc4.h   |   14 ++++++++++++++
 include/linux/compiler.h        |    5 +++++
 12 files changed, 34 insertions(+), 15 deletions(-)


<Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread>
  • [PATCH 00/11] Add support for GCC's __builtin_unreachable() and use it in BUG (v2)., David Daney <=