linux-mips
[Top] [All Lists]

Re: [PATCH v3] filter local function prefixed by $L

To: Wu Zhangjin <wuzhangjin@gmail.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v3] filter local function prefixed by $L
From: David Daney <ddaney@caviumnetworks.com>
Date: Mon, 15 Jun 2009 08:59:51 -0700
Cc: linux-mips@linux-mips.org, linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, Wang Liming <liming.wang@windriver.com>, Wu Zhangjin <wuzj@lemote.com>, Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>, Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>, Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>, Nicholas Mc Guire <der.herr@hofr.at>, Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>
In-reply-to: <d0983eb71d7517d0e536352f3288e995abbb0e07.1244994151.git.wuzj@lemote.com>
Original-recipient: rfc822;linux-mips@linux-mips.org
References: <cover.1244994151.git.wuzj@lemote.com> <d0983eb71d7517d0e536352f3288e995abbb0e07.1244994151.git.wuzj@lemote.com>
Sender: linux-mips-bounce@linux-mips.org
User-agent: Thunderbird 2.0.0.21 (X11/20090320)
Wu Zhangjin wrote:
From: Wu Zhangjin <wuzj@lemote.com>

this patch fixed the warning as following:

mipsel-linux-gnu-objcopy: 'fs/proc/.tmp_gl_devices.o': No such file
mipsel-linux-gnu-ld: fs/proc/.tmp_gl_devices.o: No such file: No such
file or directory
rm: cannot remove `fs/proc/.tmp_gl_devices.o': No such file or directory
rm: cannot remove `fs/proc/.tmp_mx_devices.o': No such file or directory

the real reason of above warning is that the $Lxx local functions will
be treated as global symbols, so, should be filtered.

Signed-off-by: Wu Zhangjin <wuzj@lemote.com>
---
 scripts/recordmcount.pl |    4 ++++
 1 files changed, 4 insertions(+), 0 deletions(-)

diff --git a/scripts/recordmcount.pl b/scripts/recordmcount.pl
index 533d3bf..542cb04 100755
--- a/scripts/recordmcount.pl
+++ b/scripts/recordmcount.pl
@@ -343,6 +343,10 @@ sub update_funcs
        if (!$use_locals) {
            return;
        }
+       # filter $LXXX tags
+       if ("$ref_func" =~ m/\$L/) {
+               return;
+       }

Certainly this is true for mips. I doubt it is for all architectures targed by Linux.

David Daney



<Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread>