linux-mips
[Top] [All Lists]

Re: [PATCH 4/6] headers_check fix: mips, ioctl.h

To: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>
Subject: Re: [PATCH 4/6] headers_check fix: mips, ioctl.h
From: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>
Date: Fri, 5 Jun 2009 13:04:15 +0100
Cc: Sam Ravnborg <sam@ravnborg.org>, Jaswinder Singh Rajput <jaswinder@kernel.org>, Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>, Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>, LKML <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>, linux-mips <linux-mips@linux-mips.org>, Michael Abbott <michael@araneidae.co.uk>
In-reply-to: <200906051034.01817.arnd@arndb.de>
Original-recipient: rfc822;linux-mips@linux-mips.org
References: <1244118232.5172.26.camel@ht.satnam> <20090604124631.GB19459@linux-mips.org> <20090604200953.GA13892@uranus.ravnborg.org> <200906051034.01817.arnd@arndb.de>
Sender: linux-mips-bounce@linux-mips.org
User-agent: Mutt/1.5.18 (2008-05-17)
On Fri, Jun 05, 2009 at 10:34:00AM +0100, Arnd Bergmann wrote:

> On Thursday 04 June 2009, Sam Ravnborg wrote:
> > Any specific reason why mips does not use include/asm-generic/ioctl.h?
> > Had mips done so this would not have been an issue.
> 
> The original include/asm-generic/ioctl.h did not allow overriding
> the values of _IOC_{SIZEBITS,DIRBITS,NONE,READ,WRITE}, so it
> was initially not possible to use it.
> 
> Nowadays, you can simply use the same approach as powerpc:
> 
> #ifndef _ASM_MIPS_IOCTL_H
> #define _ASM_MIPS_IOCTL_H
> 
> #define _IOC_SIZEBITS 13
> #define _IOC_DIRBITS  3
> 
> #define _IOC_NONE     1U
> #define _IOC_READ     2U
> #define _IOC_WRITE    4U
> 
> /*
>  * The following are included for compatibility
>  */
> #define _IOC_VOID     0x20000000
> #define _IOC_OUT      0x40000000
> #define _IOC_IN               0x80000000
> #define _IOC_INOUT    (IOC_IN|IOC_OUT)
> 
> #include <asm-generic/ioctl.h>
> 
> #endif        /* _ASM_MIPS_IOCTL_H */
> 
> This would indeed be a cleaner fix.

In fact that's almost identical to what I already have.  But I don't even
recall what _IOC_VOID, _IOC_OUT, _IOC_IN and _IOC_INOUT were meant to be
compatible with.  They were added in 2.1.14 so presumably they've become
irrlevant, so I've dropped them.  I bet nobody will notice.

  Ralf

<Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread>