linux-mips
[Top] [All Lists]

Re: [PATCH 4/6] headers_check fix: mips, ioctl.h

To: Sam Ravnborg <sam@ravnborg.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH 4/6] headers_check fix: mips, ioctl.h
From: Arnd Bergmann <arnd@arndb.de>
Date: Fri, 5 Jun 2009 10:34:00 +0100
Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>, Jaswinder Singh Rajput <jaswinder@kernel.org>, Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>, Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>, LKML <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>, "linux-mips" <linux-mips@linux-mips.org>, Michael Abbott <michael@araneidae.co.uk>
In-reply-to: <20090604200953.GA13892@uranus.ravnborg.org>
Original-recipient: rfc822;linux-mips@linux-mips.org
References: <1244118232.5172.26.camel@ht.satnam> <20090604124631.GB19459@linux-mips.org> <20090604200953.GA13892@uranus.ravnborg.org>
Sender: linux-mips-bounce@linux-mips.org
User-agent: KMail/1.11.90 (Linux/2.6.30-5-generic; KDE/4.2.85; x86_64; ; )
On Thursday 04 June 2009, Sam Ravnborg wrote:
> Any specific reason why mips does not use include/asm-generic/ioctl.h?
> Had mips done so this would not have been an issue.

The original include/asm-generic/ioctl.h did not allow overriding
the values of _IOC_{SIZEBITS,DIRBITS,NONE,READ,WRITE}, so it
was initially not possible to use it.

Nowadays, you can simply use the same approach as powerpc:

#ifndef _ASM_MIPS_IOCTL_H
#define _ASM_MIPS_IOCTL_H

#define _IOC_SIZEBITS   13
#define _IOC_DIRBITS    3

#define _IOC_NONE       1U
#define _IOC_READ       2U
#define _IOC_WRITE      4U

/*
 * The following are included for compatibility
 */
#define _IOC_VOID       0x20000000
#define _IOC_OUT        0x40000000
#define _IOC_IN         0x80000000
#define _IOC_INOUT      (IOC_IN|IOC_OUT)

#include <asm-generic/ioctl.h>

#endif  /* _ASM_MIPS_IOCTL_H */

This would indeed be a cleaner fix.

        Arnd <><

<Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread>