linux-mips
[Top] [All Lists]

Re: [loongson-PATCH-v1 24/27] fixup for FUJITSU disk

To: yanh@lemote.com
Subject: Re: [loongson-PATCH-v1 24/27] fixup for FUJITSU disk
From: Alan Cox <alan@lxorguk.ukuu.org.uk>
Date: Tue, 26 May 2009 08:56:05 +0100
Cc: "Martin K. Petersen" <martin.petersen@oracle.com>, Sergei Shtylyov <sshtylyov@ru.mvista.com>, Bartlomiej Zolnierkiewicz <bzolnier@gmail.com>, 胡洪兵 <huhb@lemote.com>, wuzhangjin@gmail.com, linux-mips@linux-mips.org, Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>, IDE/ATA development list <linux-ide@vger.kernel.org>, Linux Kernel <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>, linux-scsi <linux-scsi@vger.kernel.org>, Philippe Vachon <philippe@cowpig.ca>, Zhang Le <r0bertz@gentoo.org>, Zhang Fuxin <zhangfx@lemote.com>, Arnaud Patard <apatard@mandriva.com>, loongson-dev@googlegroups.com, gnewsense-dev@nongnu.org, Nicholas Mc Guire <hofrat@hofr.at>, Liu Junliang <liujl@lemote.com>, Erwan Lerale <erwan@thiscow.com>
In-reply-to: <1243300890.9819.40.camel@localhost.localdomain>
Original-recipient: rfc822;linux-mips@linux-mips.org
References: <cover.1242855716.git.wuzhangjin@gmail.com> <1243230339.9819.18.camel@localhost.localdomain> <4A1A4A54.6090401@lemote.com> <200905251656.25357.bzolnier@gmail.com> <4A1AEBF7.7040402@ru.mvista.com> <yq1tz39dmmn.fsf@sermon.lab.mkp.net> <1243300890.9819.40.camel@localhost.localdomain>
Sender: linux-mips-bounce@linux-mips.org
> > In any case I have yet to see a CS5536 system whose BIOS sets the cable
> > detection bit.  If that's the problem I guess we could add a quirk flag
> > to override the (lack of) BIOS setting.
> > 
> This may be the cause that udma5 cannot be set.


If the system doesn't have working BIOS cable detect as per the
documentation for the chip then just return the "unknown" cable type and
libata will do device side cable detect.

Alan

<Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread>