linux-mips
[Top] [All Lists]

Re: [PATCH v2 1/6] Add new macros for page-aligned data and bss sections

To: "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v2 1/6] Add new macros for page-aligned data and bss sections.
From: Andreas Schwab <schwab@linux-m68k.org>
Date: Sat, 02 May 2009 01:02:12 +0200
Cc: Sam Ravnborg <sam@ravnborg.org>, linux-mips@linux-mips.org, linux-m68k@vger.kernel.org, linux-ia64@vger.kernel.org, linux-sh@vger.kernel.org, Denys Vlasenko <vda.linux@googlemail.com>, Tim Abbott <tabbott@MIT.EDU>, Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com>, linuxppc-dev@ozlabs.org, Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>, Greg Ungerer <gerg@uclinux.org>, sparclinux@vger.kernel.org, Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>, linux-s390@vger.kernel.org, Jesper Nilsson <jesper.nilsson@axis.com>, Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp>, Helge Deller <deller@gmx.de>, Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>, Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org>, Russell King <rmk+kernel@arm.linux.org.uk>, user-mode-linux-devel@lists.sourceforge.net, microblaze-uclinux@itee.uq.edu.au, Jeff Dike <jdike@addtoit.com>, Jeff Arnold <jbarnold@MIT.EDU>, dev-etrax@axis.com, Mikael Starvik <starvik@axis.com>, Cyrill Gorcunov <gorcunov@openvz.org>, Michal Simek <monstr@monstr.eu>, Waseem Daher <wdaher@MIT.EDU>, Richard Henderson <rth@twiddle.net>, Chris Zankel <chris@zankel.net>, Bryan Wu <cooloney@kernel.org>, Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com>, linux-parisc@vger.kernel.org, Haavard Skinnemoen <hskinnemoen@atmel.com>, Hirokazu Takata <takata@linux-m32r.org>, Linux kernel mailing list <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>, Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>, Anders Kaseorg <andersk@MIT.EDU>, Kyle McMartin <kyle@mcmartin.ca>, Paul Mundt <lethal@linux-sh.org>, linux-alpha@vger.kernel.org, Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com>, uclinux-dist-devel@blackfin.uclinux.org, Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>, "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>
In-reply-to: <49FB35C4.6060107@zytor.com> (H. Peter Anvin's message of "Fri, 01 May 2009 10:47:48 -0700")
Original-recipient: rfc822;linux-mips@linux-mips.org
References: <1241121253-32341-1-git-send-email-tabbott@mit.edu> <1241121253-32341-2-git-send-email-tabbott@mit.edu> <20090501091848.GB18326@uranus.ravnborg.org> <alpine.DEB.1.10.0905010951100.3955@vinegar-pot.mit.edu> <49FB2449.1010301@zytor.com> <20090501171717.GA26401@uranus.ravnborg.org> <49FB2EDC.9050300@zytor.com> <20090501174457.GA26559@uranus.ravnborg.org> <49FB35C4.6060107@zytor.com>
Sender: linux-mips-bounce@linux-mips.org
User-agent: Gnus/5.13 (Gnus v5.13) Emacs/23.0.93 (gnu/linux)
"H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com> writes:

> Sam Ravnborg wrote:
>>>
>>> What's wrong with @?
>> arm does not support it :-(
>> I recall it denote a comment in arm assembler.
>> 
>> I could do some magic to detect the ARM case but I'm reluctant to do so.
>> I could also ignore the arm issue for now as it is not used by arm,
>> but that strikes me as the wrong approach.
>> 
>
> If we really have to use different tokens, I would say:
>
> #ifdef __ARM__
> # define _PROGBITS %progbits  /* or whatever */
> # define _NOBITS   %nobits
> #else
> # define _PROGBITS @progbits
> # define _NOBITS   @nobits
> #endif

GAS has always supported both '@' and '%', so '%' can be used
everywhere.

Andreas.

-- 
Andreas Schwab, schwab@linux-m68k.org
GPG Key fingerprint = 58CA 54C7 6D53 942B 1756  01D3 44D5 214B 8276 4ED5
"And now for something completely different."

<Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread>