linux-mips
[Top] [All Lists]

Re: [PATCH v2 1/6] Add new macros for page-aligned data and bss sections

To: Sam Ravnborg <sam@ravnborg.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH v2 1/6] Add new macros for page-aligned data and bss sections.
From: Tim Abbott <tabbott@MIT.EDU>
Date: Fri, 1 May 2009 09:54:34 -0400 (EDT)
Cc: Linux kernel mailing list <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>, Anders Kaseorg <andersk@mit.edu>, Waseem Daher <wdaher@mit.edu>, Denys Vlasenko <vda.linux@googlemail.com>, Jeff Arnold <jbarnold@mit.edu>, Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>, Bryan Wu <cooloney@kernel.org>, Chris Zankel <chris@zankel.net>, Cyrill Gorcunov <gorcunov@openvz.org>, David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>, "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>, dev-etrax@axis.com, Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org>, Greg Ungerer <gerg@uclinux.org>, Haavard Skinnemoen <hskinnemoen@atmel.com>, Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com>, Helge Deller <deller@gmx.de>, Hirokazu Takata <takata@linux-m32r.org>, "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>, Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>, Jeff Dike <jdike@addtoit.com>, Jesper Nilsson <jesper.nilsson@axis.com>, Kyle McMartin <kyle@mcmartin.ca>, Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>, linux-alpha@vger.kernel.org, linux-ia64@vger.kernel.org, linux-m68k@vger.kernel.org, linux-mips@linux-mips.org, linux-parisc@vger.kernel.org, linuxppc-dev@ozlabs.org, linux-s390@vger.kernel.org, linux-sh@vger.kernel.org, Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com>, Michal Simek <monstr@monstr.eu>, microblaze-uclinux@itee.uq.edu.au, Mikael Starvik <starvik@axis.com>, Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>, Paul Mundt <lethal@linux-sh.org>, Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>, Richard Henderson <rth@twiddle.net>, Roman Zippel <zippel@linux-m68k.org>, Russell King <rmk+kernel@arm.linux.org.uk>, sparclinux@vger.kernel.org, Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>, Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com>, uclinux-dist-devel@blackfin.uclinux.org, user-mode-linux-devel@lists.sourceforge.net, Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp>
In-reply-to: <20090501091848.GB18326@uranus.ravnborg.org>
Original-recipient: rfc822;linux-mips@linux-mips.org
References: <1241121253-32341-1-git-send-email-tabbott@mit.edu> <1241121253-32341-2-git-send-email-tabbott@mit.edu> <20090501091848.GB18326@uranus.ravnborg.org>
Sender: linux-mips-bounce@linux-mips.org
User-agent: Alpine 1.10 (DEB 962 2008-03-14)
On Fri, 1 May 2009, Sam Ravnborg wrote:

> On Thu, Apr 30, 2009 at 03:54:08PM -0400, Tim Abbott wrote:
> > +#define __PAGE_ALIGNED_DATA        .section ".data.page_aligned", "aw", 
> > @progbits
> > +#define __PAGE_ALIGNED_BSS .section ".bss.page_aligned", "aw", @nobits
> 
> It is my understanding that the linker will automatically
> assume nobits for section names starting with .bss and likewise
> progbits for section names starting with .data - so we can leave them out?

I believe that is correct.

        -Tim Abbott



<Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread>