linux-mips
[Top] [All Lists]

[PATCH 0/4] section name cleanup for mips

To: Sam Ravnborg <sam@ravnborg.org>
Subject: [PATCH 0/4] section name cleanup for mips
From: Tim Abbott <tabbott@MIT.EDU>
Date: Thu, 30 Apr 2009 19:53:26 -0400
Cc: Linux kernel mailing list <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>, Anders Kaseorg <andersk@mit.edu>, Waseem Daher <wdaher@mit.edu>, Denys Vlasenko <vda.linux@googlemail.com>, Jeff Arnold <jbarnold@mit.edu>, Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>, linux-mips@linux-mips.org, Tim Abbott <tabbott@mit.edu>
Original-recipient: rfc822;linux-mips@linux-mips.org
Sender: linux-mips-bounce@linux-mips.org
This patch series cleans up the section names on the mips
architecture.  It requires the architecture-independent macro
definitions from this patch series:

<http://www.spinics.net/lists/mips/msg33499.html>

The long-term goal here is to add support for building the kernel with
-ffunction-sections -fdata-sections.  This requires renaming all the
magic section names in the kernel of the form .text.foo, .data.foo,
.bss.foo, and .rodata.foo to not have collisions with sections
generated for code like:

static int nosave = 0; /* -fdata-sections places in .data.nosave */
static void head(); /* -ffunction-sections places in .text.head */

Note that these patches have not been boot-tested (aside from testing
the analogous changes on x86), since I don't have access to the
appropriate hardware.

        -Tim Abbott


Tim Abbott (4):
  mips: use NOSAVE_DATA macro for .data.nosave section.
  mips: use new macro for .data.cacheline_aligned section.
  mips: use new macros for .data.init_task.
  mips: use .text, not .text.start, for lasat boot loader.

 arch/mips/kernel/init_task.c           |    5 ++---
 arch/mips/kernel/vmlinux.lds.S         |   19 +++----------------
 arch/mips/lasat/image/head.S           |    2 +-
 arch/mips/lasat/image/romscript.normal |    2 +-
 4 files changed, 7 insertions(+), 21 deletions(-)


<Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread>