linux-mips
[Top] [All Lists]

[PATCH v2 1/6] Add new macros for page-aligned data and bss sections.

To: Sam Ravnborg <sam@ravnborg.org>
Subject: [PATCH v2 1/6] Add new macros for page-aligned data and bss sections.
From: Tim Abbott <tabbott@MIT.EDU>
Date: Thu, 30 Apr 2009 15:54:08 -0400
Cc: Linux kernel mailing list <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>, Anders Kaseorg <andersk@mit.edu>, Waseem Daher <wdaher@mit.edu>, Denys Vlasenko <vda.linux@googlemail.com>, Jeff Arnold <jbarnold@mit.edu>, Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>, Bryan Wu <cooloney@kernel.org>, Chris Zankel <chris@zankel.net>, Cyrill Gorcunov <gorcunov@openvz.org>, David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>, "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>, dev-etrax@axis.com, Geert Uytterhoeven <geert@linux-m68k.org>, Greg Ungerer <gerg@uclinux.org>, Haavard Skinnemoen <hskinnemoen@atmel.com>, Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com>, Helge Deller <deller@gmx.de>, Hirokazu Takata <takata@linux-m32r.org>, "H. Peter Anvin" <hpa@zytor.com>, Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>, Jeff Dike <jdike@addtoit.com>, Jesper Nilsson <jesper.nilsson@axis.com>, Kyle McMartin <kyle@mcmartin.ca>, Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>, linux-alpha@vger.kernel.org, linux-ia64@vger.kernel.org, linux-m68k@vger.kernel.org, linux-mips@linux-mips.org, linux-parisc@vger.kernel.org, linuxppc-dev@ozlabs.org, linux-s390@vger.kernel.org, linux-sh@vger.kernel.org, Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com>, Michal Simek <monstr@monstr.eu>, microblaze-uclinux@itee.uq.edu.au, Mikael Starvik <starvik@axis.com>, Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>, Paul Mundt <lethal@linux-sh.org>, Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>, Richard Henderson <rth@twiddle.net>, Roman Zippel <zippel@linux-m68k.org>, Russell King <rmk+kernel@arm.linux.org.uk>, sparclinux@vger.kernel.org, Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>, Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com>, uclinux-dist-devel@blackfin.uclinux.org, user-mode-linux-devel@lists.sourceforge.net, Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp>, Tim Abbott <tabbott@mit.edu>, Sam Ravnborg <sam@ravnborg.org>
In-reply-to: <1241121253-32341-1-git-send-email-tabbott@mit.edu>
Original-recipient: rfc822;linux-mips@linux-mips.org
References: <1241121253-32341-1-git-send-email-tabbott@mit.edu>
Sender: linux-mips-bounce@linux-mips.org
This patch is preparation for replacing most uses of
".bss.page_aligned" and ".data.page_aligned" in the kernel with
macros, so that the section name can later be changed without having
to touch a lot of the kernel.

The long-term goal here is to be able to change the kernel's magic
section names to those that are compatible with -ffunction-sections
-fdata-sections.  This requires renaming all magic sections with names
of the form ".data.foo".

Signed-off-by: Tim Abbott <tabbott@mit.edu>
Cc: Sam Ravnborg <sam@ravnborg.org>
Acked-by: David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>
---
 include/asm-generic/vmlinux.lds.h |    8 ++++++++
 include/linux/linkage.h           |    9 +++++++++
 2 files changed, 17 insertions(+), 0 deletions(-)

diff --git a/include/asm-generic/vmlinux.lds.h 
b/include/asm-generic/vmlinux.lds.h
index 89853bc..3d88c87 100644
--- a/include/asm-generic/vmlinux.lds.h
+++ b/include/asm-generic/vmlinux.lds.h
@@ -116,6 +116,14 @@
        FTRACE_EVENTS()                                                 \
        TRACE_SYSCALLS()
 
+#define PAGE_ALIGNED_DATA                                              \
+       . = ALIGN(PAGE_SIZE);                                           \
+       *(.data.page_aligned)
+
+#define PAGE_ALIGNED_BSS                                               \
+       . = ALIGN(PAGE_SIZE);                                           \
+       *(.bss.page_aligned)
+
 #define RO_DATA(align)                                                 \
        . = ALIGN((align));                                             \
        .rodata           : AT(ADDR(.rodata) - LOAD_OFFSET) {           \
diff --git a/include/linux/linkage.h b/include/linux/linkage.h
index fee9e59..af051fc 100644
--- a/include/linux/linkage.h
+++ b/include/linux/linkage.h
@@ -22,6 +22,15 @@
 #define __page_aligned_bss     __section(.bss.page_aligned) 
__aligned(PAGE_SIZE)
 
 /*
+ * For assembly routines.
+ *
+ * Note when using these that you must specify the appropriate
+ * alignment directives yourself
+ */
+#define __PAGE_ALIGNED_DATA    .section ".data.page_aligned", "aw", @progbits
+#define __PAGE_ALIGNED_BSS     .section ".bss.page_aligned", "aw", @nobits
+
+/*
  * This is used by architectures to keep arguments on the stack
  * untouched by the compiler by keeping them live until the end.
  * The argument stack may be owned by the assembly-language
-- 
1.6.2.1


<Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread>