linux-mips
[Top] [All Lists]

Re: -mm merge plans for 2.6.21

To: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>
Subject: Re: -mm merge plans for 2.6.21
From: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com>
Date: Sun, 11 Feb 2007 17:14:46 +0100
Cc: David Woodhouse <dwmw2@infradead.org>, Davide Libenzi <davidel@xmailserver.org>, linux-mips@linux-mips.org, Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>, Alexey Dobriyan <adobriyan@openvz.org>, Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>, Ulrich Drepper <drepper@redhat.com>
In-reply-to: <20070210213447.GB9116@linux-mips.org>
Original-recipient: rfc822;linux-mips@linux-mips.org
References: <20070208150710.1324f6b4.akpm@linux-foundation.org> <1171042535.29713.96.camel@pmac.infradead.org> <20070209134516.2367a7aa.akpm@linux-foundation.org> <1171058342.29713.136.camel@pmac.infradead.org> <Pine.LNX.4.64.0702091442230.2786@alien.or.mcafeemobile.com> <20070210102205.GB8145@osiris.boeblingen.de.ibm.com> <1171103527.29713.228.camel@pmac.infradead.org> <20070210213447.GB9116@linux-mips.org>
Sender: linux-mips-bounce@linux-mips.org
User-agent: mutt-ng/devel-r804 (Linux)
On Sat, Feb 10, 2007 at 09:34:47PM +0000, Ralf Baechle wrote:
> On Sat, Feb 10, 2007 at 10:32:07AM +0000, David Woodhouse wrote:
> 
> > On Sat, 2007-02-10 at 11:22 +0100, Heiko Carstens wrote:
> > > Which remembers me that I think that MIPS is using the non-compat version
> > > of sys_epoll_pwait for compat syscalls. But maybe MIPS doesn't need a 
> > > compat
> > > syscall for some reason. Dunno. 
> > 
> > It's OK as long as the 64-bit kernel, N32 and O32 userspace all agree
> > there there's 32 bits of padding between the fields of this structure:
> > 
> > struct epoll_event {
> >         __u32 events;
> >         __u64 data;
> > };
> > 
> > I suspect it's a fairly safe bet that N32 userspace agrees; if the O32
> > ABI is different then it would need the compat syscall.
> 
> That is correct - and apparently for all ABIs because I wasn't able to find
> a compat_sys_epoll_pwait at all.

Hmm.. so you don't need to do some fancy compat conversion for the sigset_t
that gets passed? Why is that? I don't get it...

<Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread>