linux-mips
[Top] [All Lists]

Re: -mm merge plans for 2.6.21

To: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>
Subject: Re: -mm merge plans for 2.6.21
From: David Woodhouse <dwmw2@infradead.org>
Date: Sun, 11 Feb 2007 16:33:41 +0100
Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com>, Davide Libenzi <davidel@xmailserver.org>, linux-mips@linux-mips.org, Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>, Alexey Dobriyan <adobriyan@openvz.org>, Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>, Ulrich Drepper <drepper@redhat.com>
In-reply-to: <20070210213447.GB9116@linux-mips.org>
Original-recipient: rfc822;linux-mips@linux-mips.org
References: <20070208150710.1324f6b4.akpm@linux-foundation.org> <1171042535.29713.96.camel@pmac.infradead.org> <20070209134516.2367a7aa.akpm@linux-foundation.org> <1171058342.29713.136.camel@pmac.infradead.org> <Pine.LNX.4.64.0702091442230.2786@alien.or.mcafeemobile.com> <20070210102205.GB8145@osiris.boeblingen.de.ibm.com> <1171103527.29713.228.camel@pmac.infradead.org> <20070210213447.GB9116@linux-mips.org>
Sender: linux-mips-bounce@linux-mips.org
On Sat, 2007-02-10 at 21:34 +0000, Ralf Baechle wrote:
> Unfortunately struct epoll_event contains a gap so it bets on identical
> padding rules between native and compat ABI and anyway, padding is wasted
> space so the struct members should have been swapped when this structure
> was created.  Oh well, too late. 

Indeed. That was the example I was thinking of when I suggested the "no
new syscalls without _simultaneous_ compat version" rule.

-- 
dwmw2


<Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread>