linux-mips
[Top] [All Lists]

Re: -mm merge plans for 2.6.21

To: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>
Subject: Re: -mm merge plans for 2.6.21
From: Davide Libenzi <davidel@xmailserver.org>
Date: Sat, 10 Feb 2007 20:53:52 -0800 (PST)
Cc: David Woodhouse <dwmw2@infradead.org>, Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com>, linux-mips@linux-mips.org, Andrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>, Alexey Dobriyan <adobriyan@openvz.org>, Linux Kernel Mailing List <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>, Ulrich Drepper <drepper@redhat.com>
In-reply-to: <20070210213447.GB9116@linux-mips.org>
Original-recipient: rfc822;linux-mips@linux-mips.org
References: <20070208150710.1324f6b4.akpm@linux-foundation.org> <1171042535.29713.96.camel@pmac.infradead.org> <20070209134516.2367a7aa.akpm@linux-foundation.org> <1171058342.29713.136.camel@pmac.infradead.org> <Pine.LNX.4.64.0702091442230.2786@alien.or.mcafeemobile.com> <20070210102205.GB8145@osiris.boeblingen.de.ibm.com> <1171103527.29713.228.camel@pmac.infradead.org> <20070210213447.GB9116@linux-mips.org>
Sender: linux-mips-bounce@linux-mips.org
On Sat, 10 Feb 2007, Ralf Baechle wrote:

> Unfortunately struct epoll_event contains a gap so it bets on identical
> padding rules between native and compat ABI and anyway, padding is wasted
> space so the struct members should have been swapped when this structure
> was created.  Oh well, too late.

You really should have needed padding in there, since even if you swapped 
the members, sizeof(struct epoll_event) would still need to be 16, if 
alignof(u64) == 8. Either adding an extra auxilliary u32, or make the two 
members be u64, would have been ok.
I'll be posting a patch that adds the compat_ layer for epoll in 
kernel/compat.c. Architectures that needs it (currently only ARM-EABI and 
IA64 use a compat code for epoll), should wire them up.



- Davide



<Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread>