linux-mips
[Top] [All Lists]

Re: [RFC PATCH 00/09] robust VM per_cpu variables

To: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>
Subject: Re: [RFC PATCH 00/09] robust VM per_cpu variables
From: Christoph Lameter <clameter@sgi.com>
Date: Wed, 17 May 2006 10:40:04 -0700 (PDT)
Cc: LKML <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>, Rusty Russell <rusty@rustcorp.com.au>, Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>, Nick Piggin <nickpiggin@yahoo.com.au>, Andrew Morton <akpm@osdl.org>, Linus Torvalds <torvalds@osdl.org>, Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>, Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>, Andi Kleen <ak@suse.de>, Martin Mares <mj@atrey.karlin.mff.cuni.cz>, bjornw@axis.com, schwidefsky@de.ibm.com, benedict.gaster@superh.com, lethal@linux-sh.org, Chris Zankel <chris@zankel.net>, Marc Gauthier <marc@tensilica.com>, Joe Taylor <joe@tensilica.com>, David Mosberger-Tang <davidm@hpl.hp.com>, rth@twiddle.net, spyro@f2s.com, starvik@axis.com, tony.luck@intel.com, linux-ia64@vger.kernel.org, ralf@linux-mips.org, linux-mips@linux-mips.org, grundler@parisc-linux.org, parisc-linux@parisc-linux.org, linuxppc-dev@ozlabs.org, linux390@de.ibm.com, davem@davemloft.net, arnd@arndb.de, kenneth.w.chen@intel.com, sam@ravnborg.org, kiran@scalex86.org
In-reply-to: <Pine.LNX.4.58.0605171152190.15798@gandalf.stny.rr.com>
Original-recipient: rfc822;linux-mips@linux-mips.org
References: <Pine.LNX.4.58.0605170547490.8408@gandalf.stny.rr.com> <Pine.LNX.4.64.0605170744360.13021@schroedinger.engr.sgi.com> <Pine.LNX.4.58.0605171104100.13160@gandalf.stny.rr.com> <Pine.LNX.4.64.0605170846190.13337@schroedinger.engr.sgi.com> <Pine.LNX.4.58.0605171152190.15798@gandalf.stny.rr.com>
Sender: linux-mips-bounce@linux-mips.org
On Wed, 17 May 2006, Steven Rostedt wrote:

> > Well I'd like to see a comprehensive solution including a fix for the
> > problems with allocper_cpu() allocations (allocper_cpu has to allocate
> > memory for potential processors... which could be a lot on
> > some types of systems and its allocated somewhere not on the nodes of the
> > processor since they may not yet be online).
> 
> OK, now you're beyond what I'm working with ;)  No hot plug CPUs for me.
> Well, at least not yet!

You need to at least consider how this could be handled by the per_cpu 
memory manangement. The VM thingie with dynamic per cpu memory would allow 
a fixup of allocpercpu.


<Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread>