linux-mips
[Top] [All Lists]

Re: [PATCH 00/05] robust per_cpu allocation for modules

To: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>
Subject: Re: [PATCH 00/05] robust per_cpu allocation for modules
From: Nick Piggin <nickpiggin@yahoo.com.au>
Date: Tue, 18 Apr 2006 16:42:40 +1000
Cc: Ravikiran G Thirumalai <kiran@scalex86.org>, Christoph Lameter <clameter@sgi.com>, LKML <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>, Andrew Morton <akpm@osdl.org>, Linus Torvalds <torvalds@osdl.org>, Ingo Molnar <mingo@elte.hu>, Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>, Andi Kleen <ak@suse.de>, Martin Mares <mj@atrey.karlin.mff.cuni.cz>, bjornw@axis.com, schwidefsky@de.ibm.com, benedict.gaster@superh.com, lethal@linux-sh.org, Chris Zankel <chris@zankel.net>, Marc Gauthier <marc@tensilica.com>, Joe Taylor <joe@tensilica.com>, David Mosberger-Tang <davidm@hpl.hp.com>, rth@twiddle.net, spyro@f2s.com, starvik@axis.com, tony.luck@intel.com, linux-ia64@vger.kernel.org, ralf@linux-mips.org, linux-mips@linux-mips.org, grundler@parisc-linux.org, parisc-linux@parisc-linux.org, linuxppc-dev@ozlabs.org, paulus@samba.org, linux390@de.ibm.com, davem@davemloft.net
Domainkey-signature: a=rsa-sha1; q=dns; c=nofws; s=s1024; d=yahoo.com.au; h=Received:Message-ID:Date:From:User-Agent:X-Accept-Language:MIME-Version:To:CC:Subject:References:In-Reply-To:Content-Type:Content-Transfer-Encoding; b=dJPbW3t6xPNCfvF6yqd1GCrNucJLx6TBPHnc78OkIR11SlIiNv7iThiodhX8cMBfax80X22ISPEab+ZhthQXDGunPGx4j3/dPw2Q0Bg7P2PcBjUKyqe7jco/laGmdrwvONv2v4kEGGN69+11G4tEh6VtqzxKyq9vXw2TSlK9UBU= ;
In-reply-to: <Pine.LNX.4.58.0604171936040.24264@gandalf.stny.rr.com>
Original-recipient: rfc822;linux-mips@linux-mips.org
References: <1145049535.1336.128.camel@localhost.localdomain> <4440855A.7040203@yahoo.com.au> <Pine.LNX.4.64.0604170953390.29732@schroedinger.engr.sgi.com> <20060417220238.GD3945@localhost.localdomain> <Pine.LNX.4.58.0604171936040.24264@gandalf.stny.rr.com>
Sender: linux-mips-bounce@linux-mips.org
User-agent: Mozilla/5.0 (X11; U; Linux i686; en-US; rv:1.7.12) Gecko/20051007 Debian/1.7.12-1
Steven Rostedt wrote:

Understood, but I'm going to start looking in the way Rusty and Arnd
suggested with the vmalloc approach. This would allow for saving of
memory and dynamic allocation of module memory making it more robust. And
all this without that evil extra indirection!

Remember that this approach could effectively just move the indirection to
the TLB / page tables (well, I say "moves" because large kernel mappings
are effectively free compared with 4K mappings).

So be careful about coding up a large amount of work before unleashing it:
I doubt you'll be able to find a solution that doesn't involve tradeoffs
somewhere (but wohoo if you can).

--
SUSE Labs, Novell Inc.
Send instant messages to your online friends http://au.messenger.yahoo.com
<Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread>