linux-mips
[Top] [All Lists]

RE: [PATCH 00/05] robust per_cpu allocation for modules

To: "'Steven Rostedt'" <rostedt@goodmis.org>, "LKML" <linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org>, "Andrew Morton" <akpm@osdl.org>
Subject: RE: [PATCH 00/05] robust per_cpu allocation for modules
From: "Chen, Kenneth W" <kenneth.w.chen@intel.com>
Date: Fri, 14 Apr 2006 15:12:52 -0700
Cc: "Linus Torvalds" <torvalds@osdl.org>, "Ingo Molnar" <mingo@elte.hu>, "Thomas Gleixner" <tglx@linutronix.de>, "Andi Kleen" <ak@suse.de>, "Martin Mares" <mj@atrey.karlin.mff.cuni.cz>, <bjornw@axis.com>, <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com>, <benedict.gaster@superh.com>, <lethal@linux-sh.org>, "Chris Zankel" <chris@zankel.net>, "Marc Gauthier" <marc@tensilica.com>, "Joe Taylor" <joe@tensilica.com>, "David Mosberger-Tang" <davidm@hpl.hp.com>, <rth@twiddle.net>, <spyro@f2s.com>, <starvik@axis.com>, "Luck, Tony" <tony.luck@intel.com>, <linux-ia64@vger.kernel.org>, <ralf@linux-mips.org>, <linux-mips@linux-mips.org>, <grundler@parisc-linux.org>, <parisc-linux@parisc-linux.org>, <linuxppc-dev@ozlabs.org>, <paulus@samba.org>, <linux390@de.ibm.com>, <lethal@linux-sh.org>, <davem@davemloft.net>, <chris@zankel.net>
In-reply-to: <1145049535.1336.128.camel@localhost.localdomain>
Original-recipient: rfc822;linux-mips@linux-mips.org
Sender: linux-mips-bounce@linux-mips.org
Thread-index: AcZgCRaKo5LPRXFvTha4PDZxynOXogAByO9A
Trustexchangesourcedmail: True
Steven Rostedt wrote on Friday, April 14, 2006 2:19 PM
> So the current solution has two flaws:
> 1. not robust. If we someday add more modules that together take up
>    more than 14K, we need to manually update the PERCPU_ENOUGH_ROOM.
> 2. waste of memory.  We have 14K of memory wasted per CPU. Remember
>    a 64 processor machine would be wasting 896K of memory!

If someone who has the money to own a 64-process machine, 896K of memory
is pocket change ;-)

- Ken

<Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread>