linux-mips
[Top] [All Lists]

Re: [patch 15/44] generic ext2_{set,clear,test,find_first_zero,find_next

To: Akinobu Mita <mita@miraclelinux.com>
Subject: Re: [patch 15/44] generic ext2_{set,clear,test,find_first_zero,find_next_zero}_bit()
From: Roman Zippel <zippel@linux-m68k.org>
Date: Wed, 1 Feb 2006 12:27:38 +0100 (CET)
Cc: linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, Richard Henderson <rth@twiddle.net>, Ivan Kokshaysky <ink@jurassic.park.msu.ru>, dev-etrax@axis.com, David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>, Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp>, Linus Torvalds <torvalds@osdl.org>, linux-ia64@vger.kernel.org, Hirokazu Takata <takata@linux-m32r.org>, linux-m68k@vger.kernel.org, linux-mips@linux-mips.org, parisc-linux@parisc-linux.org, linuxsh-dev@lists.sourceforge.net, linuxsh-shmedia-dev@lists.sourceforge.net, sparclinux@vger.kernel.org, ultralinux@vger.kernel.org, Miles Bader <uclinux-v850@lsi.nec.co.jp>, Andi Kleen <ak@suse.de>, Chris Zankel <chris@zankel.net>
In-reply-to: <20060201090326.139510000@localhost.localdomain>
Original-recipient: rfc822;linux-mips@linux-mips.org
References: <20060201090224.536581000@localhost.localdomain> <20060201090326.139510000@localhost.localdomain>
Sender: linux-mips-bounce@linux-mips.org
Hi,

On Wed, 1 Feb 2006, Akinobu Mita wrote:

> +static __inline__ int generic_test_le_bit(unsigned long nr,
> +                               __const__ unsigned long *addr)
> +{
> +     __const__ unsigned char *tmp = (__const__ unsigned char *) addr;
> +     return (tmp[nr >> 3] >> (nr & 7)) & 1;
> +}

The underscores are not needed.

For the inline version I would prefer this version:

{
        const unsigned char *tmp = (const unsigned char *)addr;
        return (tmp[nr >> 3] & (unsigned char)(1 << (nr & 7))) != 0;
}

Although this would be a good alternative as well:

{
        return (addr[nr >> 5] & (1 << ((nr ^ 24) & 31))) != 0;
}

bye, Roman

<Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread>