linux-mips
[Top] [All Lists]

Re: [patch 14/44] generic hweight{64,32,16,8}()

To: Andi Kleen <ak@suse.de>
Subject: Re: [patch 14/44] generic hweight{64,32,16,8}()
From: Michael Tokarev <mjt@tls.msk.ru>
Date: Wed, 01 Feb 2006 12:26:10 +0300
Cc: Akinobu Mita <mita@miraclelinux.com>, linux-kernel@vger.kernel.org, Richard Henderson <rth@twiddle.net>, Ivan Kokshaysky <ink@jurassic.park.msu.ru>, Russell King <rmk@arm.linux.org.uk>, Ian Molton <spyro@f2s.com>, dev-etrax@axis.com, David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>, Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp>, Linus Torvalds <torvalds@osdl.org>, linux-ia64@vger.kernel.org, Hirokazu Takata <takata@linux-m32r.org>, linux-m68k@lists.linux-m68k.org, Greg Ungerer <gerg@uclinux.org>, linux-mips@linux-mips.org, parisc-linux@parisc-linux.org, linuxppc-dev@ozlabs.org, linux390@de.ibm.com, linuxsh-dev@lists.sourceforge.net, linuxsh-shmedia-dev@lists.sourceforge.net, sparclinux@vger.kernel.org, ultralinux@vger.kernel.org, Miles Bader <uclinux-v850@lsi.nec.co.jp>, Chris Zankel <chris@zankel.net>
In-reply-to: <200602011006.09596.ak@suse.de>
Original-recipient: rfc822;linux-mips@linux-mips.org
References: <20060201090224.536581000@localhost.localdomain> <20060201090325.905071000@localhost.localdomain> <200602011006.09596.ak@suse.de>
Sender: linux-mips-bounce@linux-mips.org
User-agent: Debian Thunderbird 1.0.2 (X11/20051002)
Andi Kleen wrote:
> On Wednesday 01 February 2006 10:02, Akinobu Mita wrote:
> 
>>+static inline unsigned int hweight32(unsigned int w)
[]
> How large are these functions on x86? Maybe it would be better to not inline 
> them,
> but put it into some C file out of line.

hweight8        47 bytes
hweight16       76 bytes
hweight32       97 bytes
hweight64       56 bytes (NOT inlining hweight32)
hweight64       197 bytes (inlining hweight32)

Those are when compiled as separate non-inlined functions,
with pushl %ebp and ret.

/mjt

<Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread>