linux-mips
[Top] [All Lists]

Re: The Linux binutils 2.11.92.0.12 is released.

To: "H . J . Lu" <hjl@lucon.org>
Subject: Re: The Linux binutils 2.11.92.0.12 is released.
From: Aldy Hernandez <aldyh@redhat.com>
Date: 27 Nov 2001 09:49:08 -0600
Cc: linux-gcc@vger.kernel.org, gcc@gcc.gnu.org, GNU C Library <libc-alpha@sourceware.cygnus.com>, Kenneth Albanowski <kjahds@kjahds.com>, Mat Hostetter <mat@lcs.mit.edu>, Andy Dougherty <doughera@lafcol.lafayette.edu>, Warner Losh <imp@village.org>, linux-mips@oss.sgi.com, Ron Guilmette <rfg@monkeys.com>, "Polstra; John" <linux-binutils-in@polstra.com>, "Hazelwood; Galen" <galenh@micron.net>, Ralf Baechle <ralf@mailhost.uni-koblenz.de>, Linas Vepstas <linas@linas.org>, Feher Janos <aries@hal2000.terra.vein.hu>, Leonard Zubkoff <lnz@dandelion.com>, "Steven J. Hill" <sjhill@cotw.com>, Murat_Berk@bmc.com
In-reply-to: <20011126212859.A17557@lucon.org>
References: <20011126212859.A17557@lucon.org>
Sender: owner-linux-mips@oss.sgi.com
User-agent: Gnus/5.0808 (Gnus v5.8.8) Emacs/20.7
>>>>> "H" == H J Lu <hjl@lucon.org> writes:

 > This is the beta release of binutils 2.11.92.0.12 for Linux, which is
 > based on binutils 2001 1121 in CVS on sourecware.cygnus.com plus
 > various changes. It is purely for Linux.

Ok, i am completely new to this... But why is it that we need a
separate binutils for linux?  Can't we stabilize what we have in
sources cvs and distribute this?

It seems like this is a duplication of work.

I'm sure i'm missing something.

Please enlighten me.
Aldy

<Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread>