linux-mips
[Top] [All Lists]

binutils 2.11.92.0.5 is broke (Re: Binutils Bug)

To: "Leonard N. Zubkoff" <lnz@dandelion.com>
Subject: binutils 2.11.92.0.5 is broke (Re: Binutils Bug)
From: "H . J . Lu" <hjl@lucon.org>
Date: Sat, 13 Oct 2001 19:00:34 -0700
Cc: binutils@sourceware.cygnus.com, gcc@gcc.gnu.org, GNU C Library <libc-alpha@sourceware.cygnus.com>, Kenneth Albanowski <kjahds@kjahds.com>, Mat Hostetter <mat@lcs.mit.edu>, Andy Dougherty <doughera@lafcol.lafayette.edu>, Warner Losh <imp@village.org>, linux-mips@oss.sgi.com, Ron Guilmette <rfg@monkeys.com>, "Polstra; John" <linux-binutils-in@polstra.com>, "Hazelwood; Galen" <galenh@micron.net>, Ralf Baechle <ralf@mailhost.uni-koblenz.de>, Linas Vepstas <linas@linas.org>, Feher Janos <aries@hal2000.terra.vein.hu>, Leonard Zubkoff <lnz@dandelion.com>, "Steven J. Hill" <sjhill@cotw.com>, linux-gcc@vger.kernel.org, amodra@bigpond.net.au
In-reply-to: <200110131452.f9DEq7Q0032358@dandelion.com>; from lnz@dandelion.com on Sat, Oct 13, 2001 at 07:52:07AM -0700
References: <200110131452.f9DEq7Q0032358@dandelion.com>
Sender: owner-linux-mips@oss.sgi.com
User-agent: Mutt/1.2.5i
On Sat, Oct 13, 2001 at 07:52:07AM -0700, Leonard Zubkoff wrote:
> HJ,
> 
> In recompiling my whole system with your latest binutils-2.11.92.0.5, I
> received the following error while linking telnetd from the netkit-telnet-0.17
> package:
> 
> gcc  telnetd.o state.o termstat.o slc.o sys_term.o utility.o global.o 
> setproctitle.o -lutil -lutil -o telnetd
> /usr/bin/ld: BFD internal error, aborting at elf32-i386.c line 646 in 
> elf_i386_copy_indirect_symbol
> 
> /usr/bin/ld: Please report this bug.
> 
> collect2: ld returned 1 exit status
> 
> Thought you'd want to know...
> 

Hi Alan,

This patch

http://sources.redhat.com/ml/binutils/2001-10/msg00035.html

is incomplete. You cannot do any backend processing when

if (dir == ind->weakdef)

I will double check all backend xxx_hash_copy_indirect.

I am planning to make binutils 2.11.92.0.6 within a week.

Sorry for that.



H.J.

<Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread>